RSS

Re-Invention 3.o

03 Feb

From a very early age we all get asked the question; “What do you want to do when you grow up?” As a young boy I wanted to be a truck driver. Driving back and forth between the Twin Cities and Colorado I always wondered where they were going. To me they were out going to new and exciting places seemed pretty cool to me at the time. That was my first answer, and not my last. Since then I’ve many, many different answers for that question.

By the time I had reached high school I found broadcasting to be of interest to me. While still in high school I had the opportunity to take a intro broadcasting class through the St. Vrain Valley School District’s Career Development Center, or CDC for short. For those unaware of the CDC it offers more technical subjects such as welding, cosmetology, construction, dental assisting, and whatnot. And, while in high school I had the opportunity to take a couple of classes for broadcasting. Just intro classes, but still my favorite classes, nonetheless. And, having that opportunity to do a little broadcasting of my own hooking me in immediately. Fortunately, NAU had broadcasting dept. Who knows what I would have majored in if NAU didn’t have a broadcasting program. The story behind me applying and ending up at NAU is a whole ‘nother story in it’s self.

So, in the fall of 1996 I headed out to Northern Arizona U. after high school with the goal of becoming a broadcaster. And, for seven brief months after graduating from NAU with that broadcasting degree I was “broadcaster” and earned an income for myself. Like life it’s self nothing lasts forever and the dot.com bust busted me in Seattle. I did trying and remain in the industry for a while, but do to the Telecom Act of 1996 and the massive consolidation following left me with few opportunities. Which left me wondering what should I do when I grow up?

It was the summer of 2001 did a buddy from my days at NAU came to Ft. Collins to finish his degree in Construction Management. As the summer neared it’s end I was down to two different possibilities for my future. A; take a year and play ski-bum, with the idea of working for the Vail’s Access channel on my off time and see where that takes me, B; Go back to school and pursue a future in Construction Management as my buddy was planning on. I decided on option B. All these years later I can’t help but wonder how things would be if I had gone with option A.

Three years later I had my B.S. in Construction Management and a job lined-up long before graduation. And, I left for California in the Summer of 2004 to pursue my new career. I spent just under 3 years working for Kinetics where I had some great experiences. At the time I wanted to live abroad and bounce around for a few years instead of putting down roots somewhere. But, life is full of unexpected surprises. And, I got a surprise. Those thoughts of roaming for a while quickly dissipated. And, I was doing something that I seemed to be good at it, which is always nice. However, by the end of 2006 my time as a construction manager was over. I didn’t know it at the time, but it was. Being out of work for 5 years now I don’t see getting back into that field. Maybe if the right situation comes up, maybe.

So, here I am again asking the same question again. Asking the same question for the last five years, and still unable to answer that question since. However, over the past month I have started working with a Vocational Rehab professional through my LTD provider to find that answer. I seemed to have forgotten what it takes to find a new career. I was sent a couple of documents to help me fine tune my resume and assist me in thinking about the direction I’d like to go. Included in these documents were questions about my past work history and what I did during that time. Just a glance at the questions was a bit overwhelming. To actually make headway will take sometime. Not only that, I was told that the majority of job openings don’t make it to web. Which, if I heard correctly, will require making cold calls…..oh boy….??? And, I feel safe in saying that this would be a bit overwhelming for anyone. Even under the best circumstances it would be a lot. It does take a lot everything to find a new career or direction in life. And, after the past few years I feel a bit too worn out, beleaguered, and wondering if I got the giddy up to make this change happen.

With that I know it would be a good thing if I actually could find something on a part-time basis. As, even on my best days I couldn’t pull off a 12+ hour day like I used to. Either way, I need to find a way to make a change in my life as I find myself spinning in circles, which has gotten me rather dizzy. Change is indeed a part of life. Sometimes you make change. Sometimes change is forced upon us. Sometimes it happens very, very slowly and often goes unnoticed. Change is a tricky thing. Sometimes it finds us. Other times we search it out. And, those times when it goes unnoticed it’s often too late before we realize what’s changed. If I were in charge the cliche would be; “in this world nothing can be said to be certain, except death, taxes, and change.”

Fortunately, like all good things come to and end, so does the hard times. It’s been a tough two years for me and I would like to think things will get better, or change. Just as the good times don’t last forever, nor does the tougher times don’t either. That change will come. At least I’d like to think so. It just won’t come over night. Just like a broken clock is correct twice a day, I figure I’ll get something right at some point. At this point it just a numbers issue. I’d make a change in my life. I just have to keep plodding along and eventually something will change, that’s apart of life.

With the above in mind I can’t help but think this is about where I am. It’s no longer about winning. It’s something different. Not sure what that is. So, I leave with a clip from Tin Cup the movie that hopefully adds a bit of clarity to my thoughts.

And, this concludes my broadcast day.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 3, 2012 in Previous Posts

 

Leave a Reply

 
