RSS

College Sports; A New Dynasty?

21 Nov

A few days ago I noticed that the University of North Dakota will be joining the Big Sky Conference. Which is oddly good news because as myself a graduate of Northern Arizona U, 2000, and Bryan is a graduate of UND, 1997, it brings back some sense of something long lost. There was a time when the game of basketball was a tremendous part of our lives. As things go, time passes and we moved on to other things, family, interests, and more recently due to my situation basketball it’s all but in our past.

Growing up on the side of a hill north of Boulder as we did playing hours against one another. Always one-sides as he would regularly just throttle me. But, I got a bit older and a bit better and I began to change things a bit. By his graduation from UND I got there with just enough to pull of my first victory in the UND Fieldhouse. PS. I still beat Sterling my senior year and you didn’t, haha. (that would be an inside joke there). After years of getting thumped time and time again I just barely had enough to get a rather ugly win, I’m sure. It was awesome. After that there was a time when we continued the competition between us. We would go back and forth, mostly it was him that would win. However on occasion I would pull or a win or two. By the end our games became were defined as the “Dynasty” And, whomever had the last win, had the “Dynasty.” But, that time is gone and perhaps with UND and NAU competing against each other we can start a new “Dynasty” tradition. That would be terrific.

Which leads me into sports in college athletics. I knew a few athletes in my time in college. I never played myself. I was a different type of Lumberjack. I found my way to the campus newspaper, but I digress. There is something unique about college sports here in the US. Obviously, March Madness such a huge part of our culture. And, no need to go into the minutia of the annual filling out of your team brackets every March. The BCS Bowl Series during the New Year, which yes it is a disaster. Some kind of playoff at this point would be best, in my very humble opinion. And, I also do recall the utter swag Justin came back with after going to a Holiday Bowl with Colorado State some years ago. The College World Series, admittedly, I know very little of that sport, but while in Arizona and living near ASU it seemed to big in the area and for baseball fans. Good ole’ Kratzy was big into baseball. I also did notice the other day that ASU baseball has found a little of trouble as of late with it’s baseball program. I also knew a couple of tennis players that made into the NAU athletic Hall of Fame most recently, congrats gals. A Volleyball player and a couple of golfers.

I was a student athlete in high school, but from what I saw and experienced going from high school to college that is a big step. It does take a tremendous amount of dedication to be a student athlete at the college level. Looking back it would have too much for me. Besides, I have such awesome memories working for the newspaper, which reminds to include something that just came to me as I wrote this. I am going to leave that for a later post. Moving on, I can’t imagine how some of these athletes that are in a college program that are in typically contention or at the top able to manage the demands. Woah, it just must to a lot. And, yes they do get a free education for their efforts. But, these days committing yourself to a sport is at the expense of other benefits to college. I cannot speak for Justin, but after leaving CSU football he was able to gain work experience before leaving college. Which these days from what I see it is nearly, if not mostly required. I suppose it also depends on your degree you are working towards as well. And, when their playing days are over they are pretty much left out in the cold, unfortunately. As graduation rates for high profile sports are too low in my opinion. I could go on about that, but won’t. Maybe another day, if needed.

I would also suspect that there is a difference between the college athletes I knew at NAU and the athletes that are involved in March Madness, the BCS Series, and the College World Series. And yes, I am very likely missing another sport that is comparable. And, possibly I very well could be wrong. As, most if not all student athletes do take their education seriously, and did. As, the former athletes I know have all gone off to do wonderful things with their lives, thanks to Facebook I am able to keep tabs from time to time.

Either way, College sports and our allegiances is something uniquely American. My own allegiances are pretty wide and always fun. And, Love that. So, with all that said. Bro, Bring it on. I know NAU, and it’s going to be so much fun to see NAU thump ole UND this Year or next. I’m not entirely sure when they will be competing in the Big Sky Conference, Prop-heads ya’ll are all nuts, Northern Colorado is also in the big sky, which leads me to a lifelist item, yes lifelist. I’m definitely going to make every effort to see NAU play the horrible Bears of NCU get beat by NAU. And, yes I do have a distaste for the Bears of Northern Colorado.

As life is always in motion so must our traditions. And, having that is something I definitely am happy to have come my way. And, lastly if anyone willing to join they are certainly welcome.
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________


ONE OF OUR MANY DYNASTY GAMES!!! MY SHORTS WERE LOW IN AN ATTEMPT TO MAKE A FASHION STATEMENT AS MY LEAP WAS A FORCE TO BE RECKON’ WITH!!!
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________

AND, LASTLY. THIS PORTIN OF POST OF FOR THOSE TUNING IN LATE. I’M TALKING TO ANYONE WHO MIGHT WORK FOR ALTITUDE SPORTS OR HAS ANY INFLUENCE OVER THERE. PLEASE START AIRING NAU GAMES. TRUST ME, THAT ARE PLENTY OF LUMBERJACKS IN THE GREATER DENVER AREA. SO, IF YOU WORK FOR ALTITUDE SPORTS, PLEASE, PLEASE AIR THE LUMBERJACK MORE. AS I SEE TELEVISED BIG SKY FOOTBALL GAMES. SERIOUSLY, THAT WOULD MAKE THIS LUMBERJACK HAPPY AND THANKFUL.

I did add that last part as I have noticed that I regularly get visitors that use certain search terms that find their way here. And, as my stats have risen so has this blog in a search. Many days I have noticed that many of the visitors are those searching for some kind of “Words of encouragement” mostly. My Personnel Favorite was “words of encouragement for someone incarcerated.” For those who have stumbled across this blog I hope you find something that helps. It would be nice know that after all these years there is something relevant and helpful here.

So on that note; This concludes my broadcast day…….

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 21, 2011 in Previous Posts

 

Leave a Reply

 
