RSS

28 Apr

The past six months have really taken a toll on me. I have had great highs that were followed by challenging lows. The best way to put is: I have been on the worst roller coaster ride ever. Some of the awesome highs over the last few months include having Bryan and my cousin’s family in town for a wonderful, exhausting, and joyful time. Mom had five kids at her house for an entire week. This past weekend I was a best man at the wedding, and depending on who you ask, I did just fine. I even went the extra effort and made sure there was a little mayhem for the event. Yep, I found a way to get 8 staples in my head, and almost ruin the tux shirt. I finally just might be on my way to a pain free life, I forget what that is like. I met with a pain doctor down at the big Anschutz Medical Complex. It was a great visit and brought on a new sense of hope and optimism. Really, it has been the little things have kept me going. As today I stopped by my ma’s financial guy just to say hello. He did give me a call the previous day to ask how I was doing. I have a nice conversation while I was there, and it is those small things that keep me going.

I have been scaling back my life. I did have the Iphone but I realized I was not using it enough, and got rid of it. I also have decided to get rid of my cable. it was great for a long time, but pretty much anything I like or watch is on hulu or fancast. With a little help from the family I am going to hook up a computer to the TV and watch what I want for free. And, add netflix for a little variety. I am not really worried, as I would only watch TNT on cable and that is not enough reason to keep the cable. I am really looking at what I need an don’t. Life evolves, and you have to evolve with it. So, as life drifts on I focus my life on a hour by hour basis. If I am able to accomplish one task, then I see if I can cross another thing of the “list”. And, I go do down that list until I can hang no more. Some days not a damn thing gets accomplished. Some days, I come down like a flash flood, so stay out of my way. I live life on a hour by hour basis. I found a new perspective on life when you live an hour at a time. I like this new perspective. Just maybe I can take this “crap plate” and turn it into a plate of filet mingon? I know with the support and people in my life I can do that.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 28, 2010 in Previous Posts

 

3 responses to “

  1. eric

    May 9, 2010 at 1:51 pm

    Jdog – We had a blast hanging out with you last month…hope to see you soon!

     
  2. Juli and John Begley

    August 14, 2010 at 6:44 pm

    Hey joel. Don’t forget about all your friends and support out here. Update us as to how you are doing. Hugs to you.

     

Leave a Reply

 
