RSS

Delayed Gratification

25 Mar

Ok, I said that February was a tough month. And, since my time in Portland things have swung the other way. I have been busy. The national wheelchair basketball tournament is in Denver this week. I have spent a lot of time watching the games. I have enjoyed it so much. I have been spending time with Bry and his family, as they are in town this week, My point, I have a lot of good things right now and I am pretty happy, if not “zen.”

So, I got a wedding invitation in the mail the other day. And, it is by far the best wedding invitation I have ever gotten. And, I have gotten a lot. Without going into a long story, I kinda knew it was coming. So, when I got it in the mail I got this huge smile on my face. I mostly knew what was in it, but not all the details. My first reaction was to open it up and see what was inside. I knew it would be something for me to look forward to. But, it hit me. I shouldn’t opening it up quite yet. I had this thought. I should wait. I should wait for a time when I need a pick me up. Why not wait till a time when I might be in a funk. What a great way to cheer me up? It sure seems to me that this mail would give me a great feeling, and that feeling hopefully would keep the good times going. By delaying the gratification I will have a something that will put me in the right mood when I need it. I could be wrong, but I am sticking with my plan. I would hope I would never need to open it up, but I am sure I will need it at some point. The reality everyone has their own funks, I am no different. So, I am holding it here on my desk, and when that time comes I am sure it will do wonders. However, for those who know the details of the wedding would you please send me a quick note to make sure I open it up. I don’t want to miss the RSVP deadline, thanks ya’ll.

Here is the invitation. Cool, huh?
invitation1

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 25, 2009 in Previous Posts

 

2 responses to “Delayed Gratification

  1. Phillip Yates

    March 29, 2009 at 1:43 am

    Joel,
    Let me just say, I am just always floored by your writing. I loved this post. Your writing is incredibly accessible and always thought-provoking. Two key elements I always tried to put into my stories. You’re good.

    Phillip Yates

     
  2. recoveryjoel

    March 30, 2009 at 9:27 am

    WOW, thanks P!!!! That means a lot!

     

Leave a Reply

 
