RSS

Tick Tock

19 Mar

I am sure most everyone understands that life seems to move faster as we get older. I certainly understand that thought more and more. Life really is like a floating stick in the water. It just keep moving. Without stop. It was only a few months ago I reached the two year mark since my injury. I would like to say that somedays it seems like yesterday since my accident. But, really I struggle to bring those memories back. It really seems at best a lifetime ago, if at all. As a consequence of life moving faster and faster is that I am conflicted with what will be, and what is. I do dream of a day when I don’t wake up in discomfort. A day when I might be walking again. Heck, just having some additional sensation and function would be awesome. Getting anything back would be awesome. But, today is a good day and should be savored. Because what is in the past is the past. And, what is in the future is not here. So, we must all live for today, and plan for tomorrow.

But, I can’t deny that I am anxious for the future for me. I do believe it is not far off that therapies for spinal cord injury will become a reality. I have that hope, which is good. But, I do get in a “fixie” mood. Which means I get in a mood that I really just want to be fixed and it comes with some frustration. Definitely a good thing, bad thing. I say that because it is frustrating when I get in that mood, but that hope keeps me moving and living life. I do find it hard to find that middle ground to where I don’t get in the “fixie” mood, and the living for today. I guess it is just a part of my life. I don’t think I will ever lose that hope of regaining significant improvements in my body. Especially, since there is so much great science going on in spinal cord injury. But, it is still several years out. So, I guess I just need to focus on today, and hope for the future. I guess the old thought that good times good by too fast, and the tough times go by too slow. I need to keep that in my mind and in my plans. The better I make my life, the faster I am to perhaps walking again. Well, I am trying. And, I am having a lot of good times. And, one day before I know I will have have access to a solution. Till then, let the good times roll. Well, keep working towards that.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 19, 2009 in Previous Posts

 

4 responses to “Tick Tock

  1. Jess

    March 24, 2009 at 8:48 pm

    I don’t think it hurts to be in a “fixie” mood. Try taking care of your body first and foremost, drink lots of water instead of the other stuff, keep working at stopping the “bad habit”, and exercise. If “they” are going to fix or experiment on anybody it’ll be the healthiest candidate. Take care of yourself, your mind and body.
    Love you,
    Jess

     
  2. Karyl

    March 25, 2009 at 8:59 am

    Hey Joel, great video!! I felt like I was right there with you. Not to harp or anything but are you using your standing frame? How long, How much?

     
  3. recoveryjoel

    March 25, 2009 at 10:14 am

    I am trying to stay healthy. I am not always doing the best, but on the whole I am staying healthy.

    K, I have not been using my standing frame as much as I should. Have you been doing the things you should be doing?

     
  4. eric

    March 25, 2009 at 5:55 pm

    Be in the present brother, it’s all we got 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
