RSS

Red Onion

27 Dec

Today was the first time mom watched me play basketball. Actually, two of ma’s sister’s and two cousins got the chance to watch me play.Unfortunately, they had the chance to be a brickmaster. I was happy to show off my new skills. I am still learning the game and finding that there are a tremendous amounts of the game I don’t know. I am finding the my new basketball is all about strategy and chair position. I in the past had my physical abilities could over come some deficiencies in my skills. That is no longer, I am trying hard to learn how to better use my chair to become a better basketball player.

The even better news is that my stamina has increased so much. A year ago I would play rugby and be down for the rest of the day. Instead, I found a cheap table for next to my bed. I went to the grocery store. I did, though drop a lap full of food in the hallway once I got back. Which, I do often. Later, I actually made my first meal for someone. Ma and her sisters came over for a meal. It wasn’t much, but it was something. We later play some game. It was a good day. I could never imagined that I could accomplish what I accomplished today. But, here I am two years later and I am making my move. Somedays, it really is surprising to me. I am me. I am strong. At the end of the night they all went home. And, of course, a red onion was found exactly where I dropped my stuff. So, other than the red onion it was a good god damn day.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 27, 2008 in Previous Posts

 

One response to “Red Onion

  1. marcia arasz

    January 4, 2009 at 5:01 pm

    Hey, Your apartment looks great! I love the colors. Don’t forget to send me the picture of the yucca plant. Was the word you were thinking of – inversion? When we were talking about my painting and the weather? God , It was so good to see you Joel. I considered it a New Years gift for me. Let me know when you’re up this way again so I can fix that chair bag. Love, Marcia

     

Leave a Reply

 
