RSS

History?

03 Jun

Pretty much I have kept this blog to the context of my life. However, Like last night I am breaking new ground. I am for the first time talking about what I have been following Since Iowa. Yep, I have have ever since January following the politics pretty closely. I must admit I am very excited about the nomination of Barak Obama. I watched him speak last night and for the first time I felt like, perhaps, the youth of the 60’s. I have grown up in a society of either a Clinton or Bush running the country. I do realize that some out there don’t not have the same enthusiasm for Barack as I do. I am nonetheless very excited about his nomination. I do realize he may not be prefect, however he is who I believe in. I also realize that he cannot solve all our problems, but he is who I believe in. And, I am very excited. I have not yet talked about either, but I have volunteered for the Democratic Party Convention this summer. regardless of what you believe I do believe that it is not often we can participate in a National Convention. I do think it was a once in a lifetime experience. I can’t wait. Such a great election year.

So, I guess you all know where I stand now. This was history in the making like last night? Not likely, haha.

Joel

 
5 Comments

Posted by on June 3, 2008 in Previous Posts

 

5 responses to “History?

  1. Beth Hansen

    June 4, 2008 at 2:50 pm

    Go Barack! I’m with you all the way. Have fun at the convention–I wish I had that chance this time around.

     
  2. Sharon Bodle

    June 4, 2008 at 6:41 pm

    I have not made a decision for Mr. Obama or Mr. McCain at this point and this is making the assumption they will be nominated by their parties and face off in the election. They both have some strong points and some weak points (as in political history which I don’t think is advantageous). I’ll have to wait and see if anything more positive comes out for either of them and what the presidential debates might enlighten us on.

    The one major thing that Mr. Obama has done is to get the younger generation looking more at politics and this is great! Thank you sir!

    Someone once said two things should never be discussed at dinner. Those two things would be politics and religion. They definitely make for some interesting and sometimes heated discussions. Fortunately, we live in a country where we can have varying views and vocalize them without fear of retribution.

    Sharon

     
  3. T

    June 4, 2008 at 8:08 pm

    Joel, i’m glad someone is flowing politics. i feel like don’t have to watch debates, but i do get out to vote. i did hear barock was in st paul last night. i know how you feel being lonely. my last school year i found is socialy hard comming to school when alot of people have been there atleat a year and have their good friends alrady. over the weekend i met a neibhors friend whos also in a wheelchair, and told him about you, and your blog, and sounded intersted in reading, so might have a new reader.
    T

     
  4. Bryan Yates

    June 6, 2008 at 2:56 pm

    Joel,
    Your right on the money about history. This election will have new people to vote for and we will have historic numbers turning up at the polls in Nov. Whoever is reading this blog, get registered and get out and vote, if you haven’t already. YOUR VOTE COUNTS!! Tell your friends, your co-workers, you kids (if they’re old enough) to get out there and vote. Also make your own opinions on the issues. Don’t listen to Rush Limbaugh or Michael Moore, your parents, or even cable. There is so much information out there to make your own opinion.
    Our futures and especially our children’s futures are in your hands, if you vote.

     
  5. Juli and John

    June 6, 2008 at 7:09 pm

    Even the “older” generation is going for Barack! we need the new ideas and “common sense” approach.

     

Leave a Reply

 
