RSS

Top Ten Update

06 Apr

I haven’t written a lot lately. I have been just doing my thing. Which has been nice. So, I thought I should do another “Top Ten” in no particular order update;

10) The rugby season is coming to a close this week, so I won’t be playing as much I used to. They will play once a month or so during the off season. On that note, mom came and watched me on Sunday. I was being silly and I was involved in a hit that knocked me down to the ground. Mom was right there and I am pretty sure it scared her pretty well.

9) I ran into the founder of Crocs and we talked about Crocs sponsoring me for a racing chair. Nothing has happened yet, but I am not lettting him off the hook. I will let you know if anything happens.

8) I am hoping in the next few days I will receive a grant for a basketball wheelchair. I will be nervous until I know for sure. As soon as I know, I will let you know.

7) My nerve pain that was pretty bad for a while, but now is not as bad as it was before. That is great news. So, I am being more productive.

6) I have decided to put down money for a all-terrain wheelchair. It will allow me to cross Death Valley next winter. The lead time at the moment for the chair is 3 to 4 months. So, I will continue to seek out assistance for the the chair in the mean time.

5) On Sunday, Mom gave me a ride down to Niwot so I could push back up the hill. It wasn’t nearly as difficult as I though it was going to be. So, I must be getting stronger.

4) I have had a lot of help from Rich Hiegel on learning math again. I wouldn’t nearly be as comfortable with the math as I am without him. My goal is to take the test at the end of April.

3) Phill came down from the mountains to hang with me for a while. It was good to see him, as we have not seen much of each other since the accident. We had a great time.

2) Bryan had a NCAA basketball tourney pool this year. I submitted my bracket, and go figure. I won. The sad part is I had no idea what was going on with college basketball. I hear that is the best way to win a pool.

1) I am very likely going to Arizona to spend time with a friend who is turning 30 at the end of the month. I also, need to pick up some items I left there when I left. I am hoping it will turn out well.
I will likely go through Utah on the way down there.

Well, have a good day..

 
8 Comments

Posted by on April 6, 2008 in Previous Posts

 

8 responses to “Top Ten Update

  1. matt

    April 13, 2008 at 6:04 pm

    Homie,
    The purpose of the top ten is to have them in order, hence the ‘top ten’….
    I am excited to see the all-terrain wheel chair, I really wanna give it a roll!!
    I think that the sports related aspirations you have are awesome and that would be a truly rewarding and exciting goal to achieve!!
    It was good catching up on the blog from my internet down period, keep on writing bro.
    Life’s a Garden!!
    Matt

     
  2. mb

    April 13, 2008 at 8:35 pm

    So did you get the grant for the b’ball wheelchair? I think we’ve got some good spots to try out the all-terrain chair in the future.
    Hope the studying is going well…
    Aloha,
    MB

     
  3. Clay

    April 14, 2008 at 1:27 pm

    Let me know when you are going to be in AZ. Depending on schedules maybe we can drive up to see you.

    Clay

     
  4. Ben

    April 21, 2008 at 8:52 am

    Joel, give me a call if you’re passing through Flag, we would love to see you! 928-288-0229.

    Ben

     
  5. Juli and John

    April 24, 2008 at 7:29 am

    Hi Joel,
    Just checking in for my dose of Joelisms… when I feel down, I read your thoughts and gain encouragement from you. I need a “Top 10 list”!! So far mine consists of getting up and going to work, bed and repeat. LOL

     
  6. mel

    May 3, 2008 at 8:41 am

    its been a while, how bout a posting

     
  7. Juli and John

    May 3, 2008 at 4:26 pm

    I have to agree with Mel ;-)…… Need an update ()
    ll

     
  8. cuz paul

    May 3, 2008 at 10:29 pm

    I third that, don’t be dissing us out here…..

     

Leave a Reply

 
