RSS

The progression of my day

14 Feb

I have noticed a trend with most of my days. I have noticed that most of my days progress in a typical fashion. I begin to wake up I immediately, begin to the feel the “pain” in my legs. I think in my head, “dang, I am not ready to get up yet.” It still is a quite a bit “work” to get out the door in the morning. But, I do turn on the tv and watch for a while before I get up. But I do get up and do a few things and finally, get into the shower. it takes me about an hour to get done with the shower. After which, I watch a little more tv. I do eventually, get up and get moving. Once I do get up I feel uncomfortable being in the chair for a couple of hours or so. So, after several hours after waking up do I begin to feel a little momentum in the day. As the day progresses I feel more and more comfortable and better. I believe that is why I typically stay up later. As the day progresses I feel better and better. And, truth be told, I am not overly anxious to go to bed as that means right around the corner I have have to get through the first hours of my day. But, the sun does set and rise every 24 hours and every time that happens something good can happen. Of course, bad days do occur and the sun sets on those days too.

On another note. I did play the rugby last night. I had a great time. I am actually playing again on Saturday. Actually, I may have a couple of issues with my hands, so I may qualify for rugby. It is a stretch, but if can qualify to compete i will do so. I am also thinking more and more about getting more in to basketball. When I was watching the women’s basketball tourney I was told by someone involved in wheelchair basketball that if I worked hard to play basketball I could have a real chance to compete in the 2012 paralympics in London. That would be awesome.

Other than that I am busy studying hard for the GMAT. Next weekend I am going to take a practice test for the GMAT. Wish me luck.

Also, please double check the skiing video as I had some technical issues.

Joel

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 14, 2008 in Previous Posts

 

2 responses to “The progression of my day

  1. matt

    February 15, 2008 at 10:50 am

    I like the post today, helped pick me up as I feel like I am in a rut, but everyday the sun sets and gives you a new chance the next day to kick some butt.
    I liked the skiing video, it looked like hard work but a ton of fun!!!!
    I am trying to slowly get back into basketball also, its been a long time since i have picked up a ball, and I sucked when I stopped playing a few years ago, so maybe we can go shoot some hoops one of these days.
    Keep on Keepin’ on yoeller. Hopefully the ‘asterisk’ helped out the Mechanical team, dont we find out today how they did??
    Peace out,
    Matt

     
  2. cuz paul

    February 16, 2008 at 10:59 am

    Hey Joel,
    That sounds like a really tough process every morning. I’m sorry. Sometimes I’m a little depressed in the mornings, so i will think of your struggle which will help me realize how petty mine is. Also, i decided a couple weeks back that: if the Giants can perform the greatest upset in NFL history and win the superbowl, then dammit, I can lose weight.

    inspiration all around, fight the power!

    Thank you for your strength Joel!

     

Leave a Reply

 
