RSS

Crested Butte

08 Jan

Good news on the home front. I was at lunch with my most favorite mother, and I received a call from someone I know from Craig. As much as I like the guy that was calling, he also drove me nuts. To further fully explain John, the person from Craig, he was my mentor at Craig and has done so much for me since Craig. He has really been there for me soo much. He keeps me in check and helps me deal with my situation. As I said, he drive me nuts, but I a tremendous amount of respect for him. Regardless, I decided to pick up the phone anyway. The point I am trying to make is that was offered to go “skiing” in Crested Butte next week. I tried to go in November, however due to lack of snow I didn’t make it. So, I am really excited about next weeks trip. It should be very cool on a couple of levels. I can travel again, I am skiing again, I am living, I am going out and having fun. This upcoming trip will be good for me because there will be other SCI injuries there that I can hang with. I guess more than anything this give me an opportunity to do what I really enjoy….travelling. So, I will make sure to take plenty of picture to share with you.

On other notes, my cousin’s wife is in town for a couple of days and it is nice to see her. Its been a long time since I have seen her and I am sure I seem and look a lot different since we have seen each other. I have a close family and when I can see family I am happy. I thing that is what I missed most while in Texas. When I say “famiy” I mean all those that I love that are not by blood, but I call family. All of you in Colorado you that I love I call family. I guess, to me family is more that blood, to me family is love.

Have a good day.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 8, 2008 in Previous Posts

 

4 responses to “Crested Butte

  1. matthew

    January 8, 2008 at 8:15 am

    Kick ass man. Skiing up in Butte should be an awesome time!!! I hope the snow is good for you, soften those landings!!
    Matt.

     
  2. Erin Carson

    January 8, 2008 at 12:52 pm

    Fun Fun! You’ll have so much fun hitting the slopes!

    I totally agree with you on the whole family thing. We are SO lucky to have such a close group of family friends in Colorado. Thanks for being such a brother to me joel! And fortunatly we have s ton of cool “parents” that we love to hang out with (even though it feels a little pathetic sometimes:)

     
  3. Juli and John

    January 8, 2008 at 6:49 pm

    Have a wonderful time.

     
  4. Ben Wyss

    January 9, 2008 at 7:29 am

    Joel, have a tone of fun skiing!! We hit the slopes too, it actually snowed here in Flagstaff!

     

Leave a Reply

 
