RSS

Acceptance

01 Dec

It has been said that there are a number of steps to grief. I finally come to the acceptance step in grief. I have finally come to terms with my injury. It was a hard and sad realization. But, it was also a relief. I now can move forward with my life. I can find the things that make me happy.

Some of you may have heard through the grape vine. I have decided to stop my rehab here in Texas. I think I was not honest with myself on my progress. I did regain my trunk muscles. Which makes life a lot better. I do not regret my decsions to come here. I needed to be on my own and figure things out for myself. I had to learn to be own my own. I did that, and now it is time to move on.

I am moving in my mom. Her home is set-up for me and will make the transition back home easier. I am not sure what I will do when I get home, but I will figure it out. I am excited about getting back home with my family and friends. I have missed all of you termendously. I can’t wait to see you all. Bryan is flying down here next week. We are going to pack up and drive back. I should be home by Friday or Saturday of next week.

As far as the hope of walking again, I have not fully giving up that hope. with mondern science I will have that opportunity again. I will look into going abroad to get stem cells. But, I will take that decision with much more scruntity, as that decision has much more risk.

Well, thats the update. I will see many of you soon.

Joel

 
5 Comments

Posted by on December 1, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

5 responses to “Acceptance

  1. Eric

    December 1, 2007 at 7:53 pm

    Giddy up J-dog, you do what you gotta do! We love you.

     
  2. Beth

    December 2, 2007 at 7:55 am

    Good luck with your transition back home. Love ya man. B

     
  3. Adele and Steve Hansen

    December 2, 2007 at 7:00 pm

    Good luck Joel. Take care. Know that lots of people are with you! Adele

     
  4. mb

    December 2, 2007 at 9:04 pm

    Joel,
    We look forward to seeing you very soon, Colorado is a wonderful place to call home! Cheers,
    MB

     
  5. Janis

    December 3, 2007 at 3:19 pm

    Joel,
    I an so proud of you. You took a chance, worked hard and you accomplished a lot. Maybe not all you wanted but a whole lot. Go home, regoup and start again. Much love, Janis

     

Leave a Reply

 
