RSS

Happy Thanksgiving

22 Nov

Well, what can I say. It is Thanksgiving again. I think back to where I was a year ago and things have not turned out the way I would have wanted to. Obviously, my lifie took a pretty dramatic change. This past year I have most likely hardest times of my life. I have had to rethink my life. I have experienced the pleasure of a pure smile. I have learned that you can never take anything you have for granted. Life can throw many challenges at you in your life. I was thrown a unfortunate curve ball. I have made some mistakes after my injury. I have made some good decision since my injury.

Many people have refered to me as an inspiration. Many people have said that I have handled this injury better than they ever could. I appreciate those comments. However, I have been angry about what happened. I have been bitter about the huge change in my life. I have always considered my self as a strong person. This injury has brought out some personality traits that I didn’t know were there. I am not sure anymore that I was as strong as I thought. I am not confortable with my injury. I feel claustrophobic in my chair. I just want to stand up and go on a hike. I just want to throw my backpack on a get into nature. I want to go into garage and putter. That is why I am doing what I am doing here in Texas. I want the pleasure of backpacking 7 miles into the wilderness and enjoy the last sunset of the year. I did that once and I want to do that again. It was one of the most pure feeling I have ever had.

I am missing my family and friends. All of you have been so supportive of my over the past year. I am working hard not only for myself, but for those who have supported me over the past year. I want show all of you that your support will do some actually good for me. I want to this blog to become what it is titled- “recoveryjoel”. I want to fully recover. Your support will allow me to recover.

I hope I have made some sense. I miss all of you. I know this time next year I will well on my way to recovery. I will be home and with family. I will closing in on my goal to enjoy the pleasure of a hke. I will be a more complete person. I am just working hard for a better year next year. Next Thanksgiving I will have something to be thankfull for. Today, I am thankfull for all your support. So, thank you.

Have a great thanksgiving. With all my love….Joel

This picture was the last sunset of 2005. I want that experience again. I was really happy that day.
saguaro.jpg

 
5 Comments

Posted by on November 22, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

5 responses to “Happy Thanksgiving

  1. Mel Benedict

    November 22, 2007 at 5:45 am

    Happy Thanksgiving my friend. mel

     
  2. Bob & Holly

    November 22, 2007 at 10:47 am

    Joel, we will miss you on this holiday! Remember to take good care of yourself and allow yourself the time to heal. We are watching the Packers play in Detroit. Could be a tough game for the Pack. You will see many more beautiful sunsets – the winter sky at your moms house has been pretty incredible. Hope to have a glass of wine with you on her deck watching the skies one of these days. Hopefully you are with some good folks today eating a little turkey.

     
  3. matthew powell

    November 26, 2007 at 10:15 am

    Hey buddy,
    No doubt you will be back in the wild taking more pictures like that. You have been workin hard and you will reap the rewards from that!
    Keep on keepin’ on.

    Matt

     
  4. Brandon and Erin Tancredi

    November 26, 2007 at 7:48 pm

    Hey Joel,
    Sending our love and support from Colorado your way!! You really are doing a great job, through the ups and downs… keep following your heart…Brandon and Erin

     
  5. Karyl Thurston

    November 29, 2007 at 7:36 am

    Hey Joel, I’m sure Gilly would wholeheartedly approve of the activity based approach, it makes sense to me too. It looks like tremendously hard work, and I’m betting you can do it!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
