RSS

Wild Game

07 Nov

The nice thing about moving to a small town is that everybody is friendly. On Monday, I was invited a cookout. This cookout included Deer, Elk, Dove, Wild Pig, Pheasant, and Duck meet. It was all very good. I will admit I ddn’t enjoy the dove meet. The pheasant was really good. This was set up by a couple of guys. Looking back it made sense. It sense because there was a lot of good food, but it was all meat except for the bread buns. There were no salads, fruit, pasta or anything else.

This is the last week of basketball. I had my last girls team practice. We just played games and enjoyed the wondefull game of basketball. Myself, I loved the game of basketball. Before my injury I didn’t play a lot, but when I did it was very much a zen experience. Basketball was always a great way for me to blow off some steam and feel good. It was always a good feeling after playing a few games of basketball. Going home and relaxing with a nice IPA beer. That was bliss. So, it feels good to share the game I love most.

I still don’t have a place to volunteer after basketball yet. That is my task over the next few days. Once I have one I will let you know.

I am planning to make a couple of trips to see friends from rehab in the spring. I have a buddy that lives in Florida that I am going to visit. I also have a friend in Kansas City I will visit once it gets warm. The friend in KC is actually going to China for Stem Cell injections after the new year and I will let you know how it goes. I am also going to the Houston Texans vs Denver Broncos game on Dec 23rd. I am going back to CO after the game or the next day.

Have a good day.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on November 7, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

7 responses to “Wild Game

  1. mb

    November 7, 2007 at 9:46 pm

    Joel,
    The game meal sounds a bit too “guy” for me, also a bit texan…but it is always good to experience different things, it keeps us on our toes! You’ll find another good volunteer opportunity soon, glad b’ball wasa good. Miss you!
    Cheers,
    MB

     
  2. matthew powell

    November 8, 2007 at 1:59 pm

    Right on man!!! God put meat on this planet for a reason, salad and other stuff just takes up eating room anyhow.
    Glad you had fun!!
    So when are you going hunting to kill your own animals???
    Matt

     
  3. Holly & Bob Asmuth

    November 8, 2007 at 4:16 pm

    Who could eat a poor little dove. They are so little you basically have to skew them with a toothpick. You trully are experiencing Texas at its finest.
    You can always go to a nursing home and sing karoke and listen to alot of neat old stories. Could be a good thing for you to get in touch with since all of us old buggers are going to need you young buggers to take care of us some day in the near future. Looking forward to seeing yu in Colorado during Thanksgiving. We are down in Durango seeing A-Train. It’s way to nice- in the 70’s. No snow on Wolf Creek yet! Should we talk Global Warming? Perhaps not yet we will save that discussion when we talk Politics. Hang in there, and welcome to being an adult and dealing with lots of broken stuff. One challenge after another. Love ya

     
  4. AD

    November 10, 2007 at 11:37 am

    I got some frozen boar in the freezer I could send you. . . turns out So Flo is full of ’em and a group of guys will head out and bag more than a dozen of ’em at a time. It ain’t exactly Dove but hopefully tastes better. Next time I see you we’ll race Elements. My ’05 manual transmission vs. your ’07 automatic.

     
  5. Beth Hansen

    November 11, 2007 at 12:31 am

    Hey Joel have you seen 310 to Yuma, the remake? F-‘in amazing.
    Also, what country music have you been listening to, old school or new school? Some of your bloggers are beginning to worry me. -paul

     
  6. eecarson

    November 11, 2007 at 2:08 pm

    I have to agree with you on the whole small town thing- it can be pretty nice sometimes! But that whole meat cookout I’m not so sure of. šŸ™‚ Anyway, glad to see that life is going pretty well… hopefully you can coach some more basketball soon! Coaching can be such a wonderful thing, even when it gets tough.

    So glad to see you’re gunna be in CO for Christmas! We are going to have to plan something fun! I’ll be there till Jan. 2nd– so I look forward to seeing you then!

     
  7. John and Juli Begley

    November 11, 2007 at 8:02 pm

    Hi Joel.
    How is the TheraStim working for you. Just thinking about you and wishing you the best of everything.
    Hugs…
    J

     

Leave a Reply

 
