RSS

Happy Halloween

31 Oct

Halloween as come and gone. In the past I always looked forward to Halloween. This year it was just another day. So, I made a big effort to do something. I headed out to a haunted house to get in the moment of the day. If things had been different, I would have done something completely different, obviously. But, I had to go out to the haunted house. I find I have to make an extra effort to find fun things to do. As, now things are not the same. I did go and enjoyed the house tremedously. It was fun

That is it. Have a good day.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 31, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

4 responses to “Happy Halloween

  1. William Gilman

    November 1, 2007 at 11:40 am

    Joel,
    Halloween came and went here too, and I had been feeling kinda down too so I made the extra effort to dress up and have a little fun with it. I spent the day walking around Buenos Aires as Link, a.k.a. the Hero of Time, a.k.a. the rightful holder of the Triforce of Courage, a.k.a. the hero of one of the best video games of all time. I looked real spiffy with my red tunic, hat, sword, shield and long johns, I’ll try to circulate some pictures amongst the fam once I get my hands on them. It’s too bad to hear that your therapy is slowing down, it’s easy to get bogged down by all the chores and errands you have to do, but you’ll be hitting it hard again in no time. As far as sports go, I’ve never been much of a sports fan, but I’ll never look at the paltry Vikings/Packers rivalry the same way again after going to the Boca vs. River Plate futbol game here. Porteños are crazy about their futbol, I think it was honestly the most dangerous situation I’ve ever been in in my life. Keep the up the posts, it’s always good to hear how you’re doing.
    -Will

     
  2. Brian Dietzen

    November 1, 2007 at 3:14 pm

    Halloween doesn’t seem as exciting as it did when we would comb the streets of Crestview with pillowcases full of candy and silly string. I remember a few years there where we had a great time through some very cold Colorado Halloween nights. Now, the newscasters in Los Angeles tell the kids to bundle up for trick or treating, because the temperature will most likely dip below the 65 degree mark. Ugh…. Kelly and I had an idea similar to yours this year. We tried to get ourselves in the spirit of Halloween! How? By taking our baby Clover to a Halloween gathering and comparing her costume (a kangaroo) with all the other babies there. Yes, she was the cutest. It was fun, but not the same kind of fun as staying up all night with mountains of candy on a sugar rush while our feet thawed out. as you’ve written many times, things do change. I wouldn’t say it was less fun of a halloween, or more even, but I guess you start to appreciate things in different capacities. Always great to read about your travels.
    take care
    -Brian

     
  3. matthew powell

    November 2, 2007 at 9:06 am

    Dude,
    Hows your basketball teams doin these days? Are you focusing more on what they record is or that its important to have fun out there!! kinda thing??? I definitely fall into the have fun out there genre. Hope the training went well this week and you progressed as you intended. Have a good weekend buddy and looking forward to hitting the slopes when you come back to the motherland for some skiing.
    Take er easy,

    Matt

     
  4. T

    November 2, 2007 at 10:12 pm

    Joel, last yr haloween was a bust, i did’nt do anything except pass out candy to the 15 kids that came. this yr i went as a cowboy. someone said i could have been “woody” from toy story, or from brokback mountin. i wore my costume to my workstudy and got lots of comments on it.
    T

     

Leave a Reply

 
