RSS

Bible Belt

19 Oct

I have lived my whole life in the west. I had always heard about the “Bible Belt” and I now I am living in it. As it turns out, it is a bible belt here. It is regular occurence for a person to try and get me to go to their church. At first I was uncomfortable about it, but now I am used to it. The church presence is really strong here. ‘I have gone to church here a couple of times here on the request of a couple of friends. I don’t know what I fully believe when it comes to what church is promoting, but I have enjoyed the stories discussed in church. They were stories that I could apply in my life. So, I did get something out of it.

This week in therapy I hit a wall. I think with the three months of work five days a week I needed a bit of a break, so I took the day off. I also, had a upset stomach. I feel much better now.

Other random thoughts.

I am now again a CU Buffalos fan.

I have been listening to country music.

A long time friend, Kim Bruno, is talking about coming down here to Athens to visit. I know with here around it will be a good time.

I love having Rosalita back. I missed her soo much.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 19, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

4 responses to “Bible Belt

  1. Eric

    October 20, 2007 at 9:05 pm

    I have some good bible belt stories from Lubbock, TX. Remind me to tell you about them…off line 🙂

     
  2. matthew powell

    October 21, 2007 at 8:46 am

    I was never one for having to go to church, but in my experience the people that usually ask you to attend are decent folks so their a good crowd to hang around with.
    I dont know what to say about you reverting to a CU fan, disappointment, disdain, sorrow….. and the list continues. I just don’t understand how you have seen the light as an Aggie then go back into the arms of Boulder and CU. I will not loose hope with you my friend, your aggie and conservative ways will prevail and maybe I will go to church myself and light a couple candles for you!!
    Keep on keepin’ on and I hope you see some good progress this upcoming week in training.
    Peace,
    Matt

     
  3. Bob & Holly

    October 21, 2007 at 5:37 pm

    Went to the CU / Kansas game yesterday. Cody Hawkins is just to darn short. As far as religion goes, it never hurt anybody except maybe a few of the Christians that got eaten by the Roman lions, in the Roman Coliseum. Maybe there is some correlation with you wanting to be a Gladiator with your chariot. That’s pretty heavy – Joel. Your top ten list was great! Glad to hear you have someone coming in to clean the place. My best to Erika. Remember you are a very spiritual person even if you don’t even know it.
    Love you, Holly

     
  4. Emily Dawson

    October 22, 2007 at 2:14 pm

    Go Buffs!

     

Leave a Reply

 
