RSS

In My Own Mind

10 Sep

I haven’t written as much as I used to. I want to reverse that trend. Lately, I have been in my own mind thinking about the last nine months. I look back trying to understand what happenned, and how not to make the same mistakes I made. I also look forward to the future and I see many great things ahead of me. I think about what makes me, us, happy in this world. I think about living a good life. I think about what I need to do today, becasue my goal requires hard work and concentration.

Life here in Athens is good. I am gaining emotional and physical strength. It is slow going, but going nonetheless. What I have learned today is that everyday matters, everyday has something going on. It may be subtle, but it is something. In the short 6 weeks since I got here I have had many ups and downs, but I still am fighting the good fight. I guess that is all we can do…fight for what we believe in.

Thinking back to all all that I have written. What I have experienced, felt, and thought. Some good, some not so good. In the end it is what we learn from life that truly matters. It is not about the big house, great job. It is about who you love and who loves you. Many times I have forgotten that. I was, and am, disappointed about what I lost. I don’t have those, but I have soo many people that care for me and love me. That counts for a lot.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on September 10, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

5 responses to “In My Own Mind

  1. matt

    September 11, 2007 at 7:35 am

    Astute observations in this one, its not about the big house, and boy is that hard to truly believe. Its easy to say but really hard to execute. You have definitely been completely upbeat in your blogs since the Athens move and I can’t help but believe its all the positivity in that place, or maybe all the republicans, yeah thats probably it!!!
    Looking forward to the football pool cause the Raiders are going to give me a win this week as I risk injury cheering for them at Mile High this sunday!
    Keep on Keepin’ on,

    Matt

     
  2. TC

    September 11, 2007 at 8:47 am

    Matt,
    I don’t know what the proper etiquette is for cheering against the Denver Donkeys on one of their fan’s sites; fortunately, its Rockin’ Yoel and I know that he will understand. Good luck at the game, try not to get arrested…Go Raiders!

     
  3. Karyl

    September 11, 2007 at 2:31 pm

    Dear Joel, it’s been almost a year for me and believe me I’ve had my ups and downs too. It is so different now, not good different not bad different just really different. We have much to be grateful for, family first and foremost, they are always there and they carry us through with unconditional support.
    I want to come for a visit, I’ve not seen much of that part of the country, don’t know how or when. M y carbon footprint will be much smaller now as both my cars are crapping out and do not want to replace them for a while. Keep smiling , you’ve got a great smile! Karyl

     
  4. John and Juli Begley

    September 11, 2007 at 3:14 pm

    It has taken me some years to figure out that …everything that happens and the people who come into our lives are the fibers in the quilt of who we are.
    I have taken some of you with me into my daily life, just as you have taken the words, love and wisdom of those here on your blog into yours…
    It is what you do with your journey that is of utmost importance and Joel, you have made major leaps.
    Come visit us here in SA. Door is always open.

     
  5. cuz paul

    September 13, 2007 at 5:00 pm

    Joel,
    Thanks for the inspiration. I know it’s no comparison to you or Karyl’s battle, but I struggle often as a working musician, so I really take solace in what you say. But I believe we can make much bigger footprints, in this world, than a big house. A great job? Shit i dunno that’s pretty hard to beat. But seriously, thank you for your observations about fighting the good fight and for what you believe in. Hell yeah brother. And speaking of fighting the good fight, dude, come back to Boston. One word: rematch. I wanna rematch on “cold war” table hockey. Your skinny ass is mine.

    love, paul

     

Leave a Reply

 
