RSS

“It is…What it is”

30 Aug

“It is…what it is” I have noticed I have noticed I have uttered those words quiite a bit lately. I believe the chip on my shoulder has gone, and in its place is frustration. It is hard to look at yourself and realize you are rebuilding your life at age 30. I was supposed to be hitting my prime right now, but I am here in Athens, Texas getting my body back and rebuilding my life. Right before my accident I was on the verge of some really great things, and to lose it ten feet below the peak or summit is frustrating. I guess frustration is better than the chip on my shoulder.

Therapy is going well. I have been working hard. Somedays I think I am moving my upper legs. I am not for sure. It is hard to tell because 8 months of not moving at all means any movement would be pretty subtle. I have also been moving my right foot about everyother day for the last week. It doesn’t move a lot, but I think about moving it at it seems to move.

This weekend I am going to a concert. Somebody, I know is putting on the concert so I figure I should go. I bet it will be fun time.

Life here is good. As you would expect it has its ups and downs. But, the ups come far more often than the downs.

Today is Friday…work hard and enjoy your weekend.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 30, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

3 responses to ““It is…What it is”

  1. Karyl

    August 31, 2007 at 6:37 am

    Hey Joel, what kind of pt are you actually doing? how long? have you talked about it before, are you swimming? Karyl

     
  2. John and Juli Begley

    September 3, 2007 at 8:01 am

    Sounds as though you are doing very well. It is so good to hear about your accomplishments. Please keep writing. I love reading it, it’s almost like an addiction.

     
  3. mb

    September 4, 2007 at 3:56 pm

    Joel,
    Greetings…we hope Texas is treating you well! We miss your smiling face, hopefully you are spreading that grin throughout Athens!
    Take care,
    MB

     

Leave a Reply

 
