RSS

Athens

16 Aug

Life here in Athens is good. I am have found some new friends. They are good people, and I enjoy thier company. I’m sure they will be friends long after I leave here. What makes it is nice is that they only know me in a chair. They don’t know me any other way. For whatever reason that is nice. There is no memory of the way I was and they don’t give me the same look many long friends give me. I understand the look many long-time friends look at me and I don’t blame them. I would give the same look to them if they were in the same situation. It is just human nature.

Life here is getting better on a weekly basis. I am on my own and living life. Looking back this was the best move I have ever made, and I have made many moves. I am learning to sit on my own four wheels. I am looking forward. I have hopes and dreams again.

Tomorrow, I am going to Portland and I am excited. I have a lot of friends there I have not seen since my brothers wedding.

Wish me luck and tell the person you love that you love them, they like to hear it.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 16, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

3 responses to “Athens

  1. Debbie & Larry Royds

    August 17, 2007 at 9:38 am

    Hey Joel. SOunds like you are making some progress in recliaming your life. Know that you are loved for who youare by many people. Safe travels to Portland.
    Deb & Larry

     
  2. William Gilman

    August 17, 2007 at 1:16 pm

    Joel,
    I can understand how it would be nice to have friends who have only known you in a chair. I’m sure it’s tough for old friends and family to adjust to the way you are now. I myself still have a hard time visualizing it when I think about you, even with all the pictures and movies. Keep making progress and have fun in Portland, say ‘ahoy’ to Bryan and Jess and little J.J. for me. I love ya man,

    Will

     
  3. Beth

    August 17, 2007 at 2:40 pm

    Joel-
    Sounds like you don’t need luck. You are pushing forward on your own determination. Have fun in Portland. I can’t believe it’s been since Bryan’s wedding since I’ve seen those two! Give them both a big hug for me.

    B

     

Leave a Reply

 
