RSS

Gone Fishin’

10 Aug

Today was a win. I went out and got myself a fishing rod and went fishing. I rolled myself into a local sporting goods store and bought myself a fishing rod, bait, and hooks. After that I headed to the nearby lake and rolled out to a dock and fished. It did not start off well. I got my fishing line all farkled up and required help to unfarkle the line. Things did get better from there. Once I got my rod back inline I headed off to the dock again. It took me all of about 20 minutes to catch a nice bass. It felt fantastic. I really had a big smile on my face. Like I said I felt great. I realized that I didn’t grab my camera, so I couldn’t take a picture. Next time I will. Today was good day. I really have to enjoy those days I feel good. By the way…Bob and Andy I don’t care what you have to say. I use fishing bait…ha ha ha.

I have written a lot about the haunts of my past in Arizona. Today, I had the chance to speak with Erika today. We spoke and we had the chance to gain some understanding about us, past and present. I hate to use the word closure, but I it was something like that. I have really struggled a lot with losing Erika and our conversation gave me some understanding about us and how to proceed in life. She did so much for me after my accident and I will always be greatfull for that. But, life drove us apart and we were not able to be together. I do miss her and her companionship, but I have my path here in Texas. I wish her the best and hope to stay in touch on some level. I am not sure what that level is though. I think of all the things I lost after my accident losing Erika was the most difficult on me. I really loved being with her and I was very lucky to have her. So, Erika..thank you. I will always love you.

Tonight, I think I am going to go and have a beer. I have worked hard this week and I believe I deserve it.

Have a great weekend everybody. Do something fun.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 10, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

4 responses to “Gone Fishin’

  1. Loren and Susan Melvin

    August 11, 2007 at 6:25 am

    Hi Joel,
    Glad to hear you bought some fishing gear. The fish don’t care if you
    throw out bait or a fly. Fishing takes you to beautiful places and I
    find it to be very relaxing until the big one escapes! You will get
    hooked on fishing!!! Glad you had a good week.

    Love,Love, Susan and Loren

     
  2. Jess

    August 11, 2007 at 10:56 pm

    I miss you and can’t wait to see you up here in Portland (home of the other white meat, ha). I hope you have a few things lined up that you’ve been craving to do.
    My heart breaks for you and Erika. The reason we have people like that in our life is too learn and build off of. It takes time for a broken heart to heal, and closure certainly helps with the healing process.
    See you soon and we have some good Portland micro brews waiting for you.
    Poor bass– do you catch and release or cook?

     
  3. Melvin Benedict

    August 13, 2007 at 7:05 pm

    and you should have seen the one i caught, it was like 98 pounds or something like that, dang i forgot my camera also…

     
  4. Keith Kindle

    August 15, 2007 at 8:42 am

    Hey Joel,
    Drop me a line on Outlook. We should hook-up in Austin.
    Keith

     

Leave a Reply

 
