RSS

Moving Forward

06 Aug

Saying goodbye to something you never wanted to say goodbye is tough. How do you say goodbye when you never wanted too. I had a lot of good things in my life during my time in Phoenix, but I am not there anymore. I have moved to Texas. I am working on getting my legs and life back in order. However, all those great things in my past is in my past. How do start looking forward and stop looking back. It was explained to me that there is some bitterness in me, because of what was, not was is. It is true. I have had a deep rooted chip on my shoulder. It was hard, but good to hear it. I really needed to hear that. So, I have worked hard over the past week to let the past go. I have been doing well, but I have struggled too.

My trip to Austin was a huge event to start looking forward. Once, I am done here, regardless of the outcome, I will have to begin another phase of my life. I began to think about where I want to end up in a year or two. I really like the feel of Austin. Of course, I have been thinking about moving to Little Rock, AR. You may ask why Little Rock. Well, I did a road trip through there three years ago and I really like the vibe. It had a similar vibe to Portland, OR. I really don’t know where the next two years will look like when I look back. Lastly, it it a much better feeling to look forward than looking back.

I did go to therapy today. I worked hard and did well. I hope when I go to my niece’s birthday party in Portland things will be even better.

Better go. I am going to the pool.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 6, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

4 responses to “Moving Forward

  1. matt

    August 6, 2007 at 1:17 pm

    Especially you would like Austin, even I did, cool little place, watch out for the birds though…

    Keep on keepin on brother. Good luck with the therapy.

    Matt

     
  2. mb

    August 8, 2007 at 7:07 am

    Joel,
    We are thinking about you daily…
    pool therapy is a good thing! (at least our family thinks so..)
    Cheers,
    MB

     
  3. Janis

    August 8, 2007 at 2:38 pm

    Joel,
    I like the new look. Hope the therapy is going well. I think about you and how you are doing almost every day. It is good to let things go. Even the good things. Just cause you let them go doesn’t mean they still weren’t great and you were lucky to have them. The quote I like the best about people changing is from George Bernard Shaw “The only man I know who behaves sensibly is my tailor; he takes my measurements anew each time he sees me. The rest go on with their old measurements and expect me to fit them.” Much love, Janis

     
  4. Elna and George

    August 9, 2007 at 9:04 am

    Joel…It’s good to hear how well things are going for you in Texas and with your therapy. We know you will work hard and get the most out of it. As far as the importance of looking to the future, we can’t agree more. The past for all of us holds both good and bad. We learn from it (hopefully!), and it shapes what we do today and what we plan to accomplish in the future. Keep up your introspection and philosophizing. It’s good for the soul! Love and hugs, Elna and George…

     

Leave a Reply

 
