RSS

A New Hope

23 Jul

I have been here in Athens, Texas for about a week now and things are going awesome. I have started my therapy and my torso muscles are getting stronger already. I also have gained a lot of stamina since starting the therapy. I am sure there is a lot more to come.

This past weekend Jason Burch, a long time friend, that lives in Austin brought me a truck load of furniture for the new place. He worked extremely hard and I can’t thank him enough. I have a big long couch that I can stretch out on. I have a couple of dressers, some fine art work, a coffee table, and some selves. I will say this. Being here feels like home. When I first left Craig and moved to Phoenix I never had the feeling of home, but here it feels like home. I really like it here. This is really going to be good for me. I don’t have a lot of distractions which will allow me to focus on what I need to do on improving myself. As you would expect the people here are extremely nice. The weather is great. I know coming here was the right decsision for me. This next year should be a good one.

One another note. The handcycle all of you help me get finally was riding on an actual ride yesterday. I went about 5 miles and I felt free. I felt fantastic. It was awesome. When I was done I went home had a Budwieser and went to bed feeling good.

Lastly, I had a bunch of images and video from when I was in Phoenix and I should start posting them this week. So, keep your eye out for the posts.

I read the comments from the previous post and I really enjoyed all of them. It feels good to have some many people pulling and caring for me. So, thanks for the comments and supports. It really means a lot. Also, I noticed there were a couple questions in the comments. I am writing this at the public library and as soon has I get Internet at my apartment I will answer them all.

Today is Monday….make it a great week.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 23, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

4 responses to “A New Hope

  1. matt

    July 23, 2007 at 1:13 pm

    This would should be super duper, might actually work this week!! Good luck with the therapy, glad its feelin good already. Your spindly arms might actually get some muscle on them someday. Life’s a garden….

    matt

     
  2. Robin and Dave ( flight nurses)

    July 23, 2007 at 4:52 pm

    Hello Joel,
    I’m one of those weird women that likes to move…so I am excited about you new city…Life hands us adventures in many different ways…I am pleased to hear that you are doing so well. Dave is still flying the friendly skies and I am busy with teaching. Stay strong and I’ll keep you in my daily thoughts…

    Robin and Dave

     
  3. Dominic Lovely

    July 24, 2007 at 8:19 am

    Joel,
    Glad to hear you settled in so fast. I think about you all the time and and sending you my good thoughts. Great to hear you got on the bike for a good ride. I just got a new bike and have been riding to work lately. reminds me of all those rides into town with you as youngsters.

    Take care,
    Dom

     
  4. Will Gilman

    July 24, 2007 at 3:09 pm

    Joel,
    It’s great to hear that you’re getting settled in to your new home and are making progress already. You were pretty down for a while and I’m glad to see you in higher spirits again. I don’t know what the future holds for you, but I think if you keep working hard and following your heart and other such lame platitudes, that good things will happen. I am a firm believer in will power and while some people might call me “incredibly stubborn” I prefer to think of it as “persistence”, and persistence pays out pretty well. We’re all here with you man, and remember: “Do, or do not. There is no try”

    Will

     

Leave a Reply

 
