RSS

Inspiration

18 Jul

I first want to say thanks to my mom for her support and help with my move to Texas. I know it was hard for her, but her support meant and means a lot. I dropped her off at the airport last night.

I have started my therapy and I am excited. I am really optimistic about what is going to happen with me over the next year. I really believe.

I don’t know if somethings are meant to be in our lives, but I beilieve that the spinal cord injury and my recovery was meant to be. I don’t know why, but I am will have learned soo much from this experience. Maybe, this experience is what I supposed to learn. I have learned a lot about life and what it means. I have leaned what it means to help others. I have learned what it means to have people love you and to love back. I have learned you have got have hope in life. I have learned that you have to think about what you are doing in life. I could go on for a long time, but I won’t. I know you get the point.

i spoke with Erin Dowd last night I am excited about going to Vail this November to learn how to ski again. I am going to spend a week skiing and having fun. I know I have to focus on walking again, but I have to live life too. Having fun in Vail is living life. So, Erin and anybody else I know in Vail I expect to see you this November. I expect you to have a drink with me.

Before I left Arizona I had the great opportunity to spend sometime with this woman who has been in a chair for 16 years. Her experience and attidute is beyond understanding. Her drive and persistance is not comparable. My time with her really brightened my spirits. I gained a tremendous amount of inspiration from her. I wish you could all meet her. You would be awestruck by her as much as I was.

well I guess that is it. Today is Friday, so enjoy the start of your weekend.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on July 18, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

11 responses to “Inspiration

  1. John and Juli Begley

    July 19, 2007 at 3:44 am

    It’s been a long week for everyone. I thought all day yesterday that it was Thursday when really it was only Wednesday…lol
    I’m so glad you made it to Texas safe and sound. I will be able to see your mom when I go to Jess and Bryans next month for Jamysens 1st Birthday!!
    Come visit us here in San Antonio. We would love to have you and have plenty of room. We will go to the ALAMO.

     
  2. matt

    July 19, 2007 at 7:45 am

    Today is Friday huh?? well I’ll take your word for it and not show up to work tomorrow. You have showed me through this blog thing what life can really be about, I agree with all that you typed. I would not have pondered virtually any of those things without reading this blog. Thanks for helping us understand the importance of those questions. Good luck with the therapy and you might want to pick up a cheap canoe this weekend, they kinda get a lot of rain down there!!

    Matt

     
  3. Janis

    July 19, 2007 at 3:46 pm

    Joel,
    Maybe your destiny lead you to that amazing woman. There are many amazing people out there and you are one of them. Just because you get down doesn’t mean you aren’t amazing. Your on a new path and who knows where it might lead you. I am so excited for you and will be here cheering you on. Much love, Janis

     
  4. Erika

    July 19, 2007 at 5:46 pm

    Great to hear that you made it, settling in and starting your therapy. I’m very excited for you – I know how much you believe in this move and am happy to know this is the right thing for you. I wonder if you’ll start to say “y’all” pretty soon…..

    Love you,

     
  5. John and Juli Begley

    July 20, 2007 at 4:55 am

    In response to Erika’s “Y’all”…. you know you’ve been in Texas a while when you say……..”i’m fix’n to” and it is all one word.

     
  6. Erin

    July 20, 2007 at 11:10 am

    Joel- You are a great writer! The things you put into words are inspirational. I am excited about skiing this winter:) I am enjoying all the summer activities in Vail, but I always love it when the snow starts to fall.

     
  7. Erin

    July 20, 2007 at 11:19 am

    p.s. Dawson says hi and is excited to have a drink with you over Turkey Day.

     
  8. Emily Dawson

    July 20, 2007 at 12:44 pm

    Hi Joel Yates!! Nice website. What a geek I’ve become that I notice website design… I can’t wait to see you in November. I’ve missed you the last couple of years and I am thrilled to hear that you are coming back to Vail for a visit. I’ll make sure I have some tequila for you! You still like tequila right??
    I’ve got to tell you that I spent most of my morning reading your entries and what I have gathered is that you are still the kind, appreciative, soulful man that I met some years ago. I also think the honesty and openness in your writing is very brave. And on top of all of that you are a total hottie! I’ll see ya soon kid. XOXO

     
  9. mb

    July 20, 2007 at 9:21 pm

    Joel,
    You are where you need to be right now, and all our positive thoughts are with you! Your Mom is a gem, and we are glad you appreciate her and treat her well…she wants to help you in whatever way she can. We look forward to seeing you in CO, you know how much we love Vail! Miss you…
    Cheers,
    MB

     
  10. Janice

    July 21, 2007 at 3:38 pm

    Hey buddy,

    You are going to need a cowboy hat and a set of boots for the winter. Got to fit in – when in Texas, do as the Texans do. Yep, somebody mentioned y’all…….well I’m guilty….after 10 years in Texas, I picked up the local slang – lost it quick when I left.

    Good to hear the trip went well. Looking forward to hearing your progress.

    Let me know if you need anything.

    Janice

     
  11. Loren and Susan Melvin

    July 22, 2007 at 7:08 am

    Hi Joel,
    It sounds like your trip to Texas was a smooth one.
    I got to see your mom at a party last night. We had a good
    chat as always. I think it’s great that you are exploring
    different options for yourself. Don’t ever forget what a
    fine young man you are. I read your blog daily and
    appreciate everything you share.
    Love,Love
    Susan and Loren

     

Leave a Reply

 
