RSS

Starting Back Up

08 Jul

Going to Flagstaff was the best Idea I could have had. I spent time with good friends talking about the good past and the future to come. We made fun of each other unrelenting. It was a lot of fun. It was really what I needed. I needed to get out of Phoenix and my apartment. I will admit the two hour drive I called a lot of poeple to help distract me. To those I talked to you Saturday…thank you. It is appreciated. On my way back down to the valley I stopped by and had lunch with this girl I met through wheelchair basketball. I was good to talk to her. You had a lot of good advice. We just hungout in the nice day and talked about many different things. She said what I was doing was a good thing. She said while I am still new with this injury I need to work and try to get function back. She made a good point. She said that if you don’t use you body, you lose it. I agree. I have a 18 month time frame that I can get function back. I might aswell spent sometime trying to get function back and figure out what I want to do next. So, I am going back to Prescott again on Wednesday to hangout again. I know it will be good for me.

When I told her about my endenvour to Texes. She agreed with me on my move. She definately understood about my need to be somewhere new. I have all these memories of that haunt me. Moving somewhere new will help me get new memories. Since my accident I have been off balance, and getting somewhere new will help me get balanced again. I can spend sometime figuring out what I want to do. Meanwhile, I will work to get additional function back in my body, if I don’t walk again.

I know that this time is the bottom of the barrel. It can only go up from here. I believe I will walk again, but if I don’t I know I will get a lot of function back. Even the last couple of days I now can move my quad muscle now. It doesn’t move very much as it gets tired pretty quick, but I can move it. Great progress. Stay reading as things get better and better. This week will feel as if will last a long time, but it will come.

Have a good Monday.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 8, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

2 responses to “Starting Back Up

  1. T

    July 8, 2007 at 7:42 pm

    Joel, i know what you mean by getting away for the weekend, and getting to see someone you have’nt seen in a while. i know someone whos moving to phoenix for work.
    T

     
  2. Brian Dietzen

    July 8, 2007 at 9:25 pm

    Movement in the quad? Awesome! It’s great to focus on all of the positives that are happening or soon to be happening. I’m excited for you man. It sure sounds like the move is going to be great for you. thanks for the posting.
    -B

     

Leave a Reply

 
