RSS

Keeping My Hope of Walking Alive

03 Jul

The last seven months very likely have been my toughest. Seven months ago I lost everything I loved. Since I was first told that I would not walk agian I never believe that prognosis. I knew I would walk again. On that note…I am going to pursue my dream of walking again. While I was at Craig I met this guy who was working with a man in Texas that has gotten a number of people out of their chairs. Himself, he has been paralized twice and walked again. I met with him last week, that was why I didn’t write, and I have decided to move to Athens, TX to work with him to get out of my chair. While I was in Texes I saw this young girl that had been in a chair for a year and a half and after working with this guy for three weeks she was beginning to crawl. I believe in this guy, and I believe in myself. I will walk again. I will bring you along on my journey.

Some of the reasons I am going to work with this guy is the fact that two weeks ago I started moving my toes on a limited basis. Every story that I heard of people walking again their toes moved first. I am getting some additional function back too. I believe this return is the start of my body coming back to me. This person is going to help get my body back faster. Also, living in a small town I can focus on my rehabilitation, so I can get back to riding my bikes again.

Athens, TX is a small town SE of Dallas. It a small town, which will be a nice change of pace after being in Phoenix for two years. The weather there is warm and humid.

As far as Erika and I, we both love each other very much. We always will. But, I need to go to Texas to do what I need to do. Erika has her own goals and dreams. Unfortunaltly, our goals mean we can’t be together right now. Each of us have to focus on ourselves. We are and will remain good friends. Erika I love you with all my heart, and always will.

I don’t know what my future holds for me, but for some reason I believe going to Texas is what will help me walk again. I have to do this, if not I will always regret it. Wish me the best of luck, and keep sending those good vibes and comments.

 
13 Comments

Posted by on July 3, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

13 responses to “Keeping My Hope of Walking Alive

  1. Mel Benedict

    July 3, 2007 at 7:39 pm

    just keep going…. where ever that is, just keep going

     
  2. cuz paul

    July 3, 2007 at 10:05 pm

    That’s great news bro. Keep following that heart of yours.

     
  3. Dowd Family

    July 4, 2007 at 9:52 pm

    Joel,
    We sat on our terrace tonight and watched the fireworks all around us like we did with you many years ago. It was pretty quiet without you and Beth to shoot Roman Candles at each other. Good memories.
    Looking forward to seeing Die Hard after your recommendation.
    Don’t know how a Colorado boy wil be able to tolerate Texas but of course I don’t know how you tollerate Arizona. At least Phil has figured it out and is coming home. After growing up in Oklahoma I really appreciate the cool dry mountain air.
    Hope you’ll consider coming home after your stint in Texas. All our good wishes to you.
    LeMoine and Bill

     
  4. matt

    July 5, 2007 at 6:15 am

    Joel,
    It has been a while since I have posted, no internet living out in Brighton these days. I have been reading the posts and I am pullin for you 110%. If you believe you can, you can, no bullshit. Your mind has remained incredibly strong throughout, that is the best possible tool you could ever have. As you have said very honestly on this blog, there has been highs and lows, and there will be more of both. Keep your mind strong and your body will follow. Please keep us all updated as these times are pretty exciting for us here in internet world waiting to hear about your progress. Good luck and keep on keepin’ on. Lifes a garden and you sure are diggin it!!!
    Matt

     
  5. Janis

    July 5, 2007 at 3:35 pm

    Joel,
    I just got back from a week at Karyl’s cabin fixing it up to rent so I just read your blogs today. You have had a tough time but you have pulled through again. It shows how strong you really are. Paul is so right, we are out here reading your blogs, trying to understand what you are going through but we can’t. No one can unless they have gone through it themselves. But you know you have a lot of people out here that will be with you every step of the way. Much love, Janis

     
  6. Brian Dietzen

    July 5, 2007 at 6:12 pm

    I’m so happy to hear this news Joel! Kel and I just got back from a visit to Colorado, and I just read your last few posts. I’m very happy to see that after you’ve had your bad days, you’ve actively gotten yourself out and about to “right the ship”. Awesome. Haven’t seen the new Die Hard yet, but now it’s definitely on the list. Sounds like the move to Texas will be life changing, and very positive. I’m a huge believer in the power of your mind through all of this, and I really believe that you will walk, that’s your first step towards making it happen. I’m glad to hear that you’re ready to take all of us readers along with you on your journey, and look forward to many more posts. Thanks as always for the inspiration.
    take care
    -Brian

     
  7. Sharon Bodle

    July 5, 2007 at 7:07 pm

    Joel,
    I can tell you have really struggled over the past few weeks from your posts. However, I can also see how strong you are as well. It is very encouraging to hear your latest news. I was actually cheering out loud as I read it. I believe you can achieve much with the right mindset and the right training/mentoring. As you make the move to Texas don’t forget to check out the TexMex! We’ve had some wonderful food down in Texas outside of Austin about thirty miles. Some of those smaller towns have the greatest food. We look forward to future posts as you make this move and prepare for some really hard physical work. The reviews for Die Hard in our area said it is the greatest action movie ever – I don’t know if that is true or not, but everyone that’s seen it says it is really good. I guess we’ll have to go see it and let you know if we agree.
    Sharon

     
  8. JoAnn & Joe Augustaitus

    July 5, 2007 at 8:39 pm

    Joel,
    What great news that you are getting some movement, and
    you are going where help is.
    Spent the 4th with Justin and family so it was a good day.
    Lit some fireworks off here which really impressed Tucker
    then went down to see Longmont’s display.
    The weather has been warm here but nothing compared
    to the 100+ Phoneix has been posting.
    Let us know as your move progresses, and the next
    chapters in your recovery unfold.
    Love,
    JoAnn & Joe

     
  9. Laurie Marta

    July 6, 2007 at 2:00 am

    Dear Joel,

    I’ve been away from the computer since Sunday and just read your last couple of postings. Moving to Texas sounds like a good plan. Give God the glory for the victory because the battle is already won if you believe with all your heart and have faith. There is power in prayer. Also, tears are healing…if you sow in tears you will reap in joy.

    Praying for you,
    Laurie

     
  10. Eric

    July 6, 2007 at 6:02 am

    Joel – You have balls the size of TEXAS my man! You are freaking incredible – go get it done!

     
  11. Bernadette and Gil

    July 6, 2007 at 8:30 am

    Joel,
    Got to read your three new posts this morning. The news of the man in Texas is AWESOME! As you have heard before, one door opens when another door closes. The best thing about you is that you WALK THROUGH THE DOOR THAT OPENS!!! You are one of the strongest men I’ve know and that does not mean only physical strength. Your mental strength and your ability to read and feel your emotions is by far your biggest strength. And with that you’ll be doing great things.
    “I will think not of what I am suppsed to do, but of what I can do. On days when my way seems blocked, I will not find my way, I wll MAKE my way.” YOU ARE making your way, and it’s such an inspiration to us.
    We wish you the very best as you enter this new path Joel.

     
  12. Dominic Lovely

    July 6, 2007 at 8:48 am

    Joel,
    You have incredible perspective.
    Keep charging!
    Dom

     
  13. Adele and Steve Hansen

    July 6, 2007 at 4:52 pm

    Joel,

    We are thinking about you, and wish the move goes smoothly.
    You have to do what your heart tells you, and sometimes it might tell you things that others don’t. FIght the good fight!

    Adele

     

Leave a Reply

 
