RSS

The Man on the Rock

18 Jun

I obviously haven’t witten as much as I have in the past. I seem to be asking myself those questions that I would have asked even if I had not had a spinal cord injury. Where do I want to be in two, five, and ten years? What do I want to do on my weekends? What do I want to do with my career? How do I make my dreams come true? what are my dreams? How can I make my life better? There are ever present on my mind. Just now the conditions have changed. I admit that they would have seemed eaiser without the injury. But in the same respect they seem easier. I am now behind the eight ball and I have nothing to lose. I guess what is the worst that can happen? Before my accident other than the obvoius this injury would have been it. To lose the ability to do what I love most I couldn’t have imagined.

Something that I thought today I realized I have not witten about. The day before I got hurt I was on a short hike in Sedona, AZ. I noticed a guy in a what I would know now a mountian bike wheel chair. I remember thinking…good for him. To have his disablity and get out to where to a place and enjoy what Sedona has to offer. In my mind one of the most beatiful places in the world, but that is just me. I wouldn’t have thought that, that could be me, perhaps I should have. I thought that guy is probably an inspiration. My point is that is it was good for him to continue with life, but I couldn’t at the time have ever understood how hard it would to be that guy. And for me, many days it is hard to be that guy. But I guess like I have said a hundred times, I don’t have a choice. I woke up one night and was told that I would probably never walk again. I just have to deal with it and find a way to be that guy on that rock that day. Even as I write this I think all of us have the opportunity to be like that guy. We all have the ability to make out lives happier, better, fuller. We just have to do it. It is even difficult for able bodied people to make their lives what they want it to be. Life I guess is work everybody, I guess I always knew that. I just didn’t realize everbody has challenges in life. And like that guy on that rock that day and like everyone else our challenges are unique to each person.

On the work front. I am getting back to it. I still struggle to get up and get going as early as I would like. But, I am slowly getting up a little earlier everyday. I will get there at some point.

Lastly, I would like to write more as it is comforting to do it. But, my life become a little less interesting with every passing day.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on June 18, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

10 responses to “The Man on the Rock

  1. Janis

    June 19, 2007 at 9:04 am

    Joel,
    Great blog. If you think you life has become less interesting, your thoughts have become more interesting. Wow, isn’t it ironic that the day before your accident you saw a little of your future life. You are doing so great. You’re amazing. Much love, Janis

     
  2. Erika

    June 19, 2007 at 5:02 pm

    My love,

    Your blog reminded me of the Morning Ritual’s “that guy”. You know – you ARE him! You inspire and awe people everyday – some you will never even speak to. You amaze me with your strength and courage. Remember “that guy” – I know it’s hard, but life is waiting – live it.

    Erika

     
  3. mb

    June 19, 2007 at 7:17 pm

    Life s like a box of chocolates…Forrest Gump let us n on that fact some time ago. Now it is your turn to remind us. I hope your challenges get easier, your dreams become reality, and you find comfort in knowing your abilities. Smile!
    Cheers,
    MB

     
  4. John and Juli Begley

    June 20, 2007 at 3:15 pm

    You have the whole world in your hands. You are the man on the rock…and a rock of a man. We are so proud of who you are and who you have become in the past few months. Thanks for giving so much to all of us.

     
  5. Mel Benedict

    June 20, 2007 at 9:41 pm

    just keep at it. before you know it, you will be getting into work by noon, just like the old days

     
  6. Beth Hansen

    June 21, 2007 at 5:44 pm

    There’s so much we can learn by openness to these kinds of observations. Whether it has such a direct relationship to our own lives or we can learn something simpler. How strange but poignant to reflect on later in our experiences.

     
  7. Karyl Thurston

    June 23, 2007 at 8:45 am

    Hey Joel, I’m so glad your swimming, I have always throughly enjoyed how the water makes you feel, bouyant and weightless, kinda like being back in the womb, starting over. I’m trying to talk your Mom into a lap pool, no go. I can so empathize with you, even though I’m readjusting mentally (not physically, unless you include old age), I feel like we’re on the same journey. When I read your blog, it’s like reading my thoughts as well. Right now I keep my head down and keep moving if I stop and start thinking, everything seems insurmountable.
    Actually its kinda nice not to plan “past lunch” I can hardly wait until I can do that. Karyl

     
  8. Suze Biehl

    June 25, 2007 at 9:22 am

    Hey Guy;not to worry have been helping out your mom with the inspection on the house.Nothing major just a lot of minor repairs the contractor just needs to get a lot of subs on the stick and take care of the needed repairs.The final details we will be meeting with the builder later this week…..carry on my friend N & S…

     
  9. matt

    June 25, 2007 at 12:08 pm

    Good to hear from you buddy. Hope the KSI Maching is treating you well. Gettin busy down there yet?? All I try to do is Keep on Keepin’ on, besides Life’s a garden, Dig It!

     
  10. Calvino

    June 27, 2007 at 7:44 am

    Spacemann Spiff awainting for instructions….

     

Leave a Reply

 
