RSS

Basketball

29 May

Last night I played basketball for the first time. Going into it I had all these expectations of graduer. And as life is…that didn’t happen. To start it took a couple of chairs for me that I could use. Once I was up and running I got into the game and if you were watching I problably looked like a chicken rolling around with my head cut off. I had no idea of what I needed to do. All my years of being a gym rat had no relevance last night. Granted I played a lot of basketball in my past, but wheelchair basketball is entirely a different game. It is a case of what I knew has know to do with what I know, but what I know has everything to do with what I don’t know. I really don’t know what that means, but I am excited to get back on the court next week. It was like back at Craig. It was playing with the intent to get a smile.

Last night I was watching my favorite episode of Scrubs and I made a realization. I am JD. I have going through life as if I am narrating my life. It was kinda of a awaking, because at the end of each eposide it concludes with this great lesson in life. I think that sometime that is me. Tell me if I am wrong on this one. So, with this observation I have a proposal. Back in my days at NAU I was affectionally called Yoel. With this thought I am insisting a nickname derived from Yoel. If you so desire you can call me Yoel D. Just a thought.

One last thing I want to say. I was listening to this talk radio program when I heard something that caught my attention. this guy said, “We are looking for that cool moment in life”. I really think that comment was cool. I mean that all of us have had at least one moment in our lives that we have said to ourselves that, “this is cool”. Another…just a thougtht by Yoel D.

For those keeping track vote tally is close. This morning I assumed it would go to Ginger, but Rosalita made a comeback. So, I recommend you vote. This is important stuff. So, Please vote. the name of a vehicle depends on you. Rosalita, or Ginger. Please let me know.

I am working on the video from SeaWorld, so be paitient.

Well, Today is hump day…so, well….. And if that the day of the week doesn’t work for you I hope you at least get the,” that was cool moment”.

I know I have said the above before, but it is such a great idea.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on May 29, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

7 responses to “Basketball

  1. Renee

    May 30, 2007 at 10:09 am

    I vote for Ginger.

     
  2. Peter Scanlon

    May 30, 2007 at 12:56 pm

    It’s gotta be Rosalita.

    1) This is the southwest, gringo. Act like it.
    2) It’s the name of a great Springsteen song.
    3) Ginger is just too…wussy.
    and 4) Who didn’t like Mary Ann better, anyways?

    P

     
  3. Cheryl Paul

    May 30, 2007 at 1:24 pm

    Rosalita – it’s an Hispanic thing!

     
  4. Janis

    May 30, 2007 at 1:28 pm

    Joel,
    I vote for Rosalita. It’s in the same vein as Pepe. Much love, Janis

     
  5. John and Juli Begley

    May 30, 2007 at 3:23 pm

    Rosalita is a Refried Bean….

     
  6. Marge Scanlon/aka Pete's mom

    May 30, 2007 at 5:46 pm

    I’m comin’ to lend a hand
    I’m comin’ to liberate you…..

    Lines from Rosalita (Springsteen)- say it all….

    Can I vote twice???

     
  7. Bernadette and Gil

    June 1, 2007 at 5:23 am

    Did you get our votes?
    Ginger and Ginger

     

Leave a Reply

 
