RSS

Parking

21 May

I was at the grocery store last night and as left the parking lot I observed this young guy getting back into his car. The kicker is that her was parked in a handicapped spot. It was pretty clear her was fully able. I thought to say something, but I didn’t say anything. As I drove off I thought should have said something. I mean, I never parked in a handicapped spot before my injury. But, it was not if ther handicapped spots were full. Perhaps, it is a principle thing. I really don’t have the answer for what I saw, but I think next time I will politely say something. Let me know if I am wrong with this.

I emailed a fellow graduate of Craig a couple of days ago. And, last night when I got home I found a replied email. Has I read the email that talked about the her frustration since coming home, and it felt like I could have type the same email. On one hand I was glad to see that I’m not alone in my frustrations and challenges. One the other hand I felt bad to see she was struggling. She was strong during her time at Craig and to see her struggle is tough. I wish there was something I could say that would cheer her up. I am planning to reply that I am going through the same challenges. but I know just like me, the tough times come and go. We just have to find a way to pull ourselves out of the down times. The tough times are just a reality for us. The hope is that the down time become les and less.

Lately, I have been search the Internet for information on spinal cord injury research. I found a couple of articles. You might find them interesting.

http://www.ocregister.com/ocregister/healthfitness/article_1698120.php

 
5 Comments

Posted by on May 21, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

5 responses to “Parking

  1. Matt

    May 22, 2007 at 5:27 am

    I dont think your wrong about the parking, its there for a reason. Someones laziness is not the reason either. Down time is tough, it helps you appreciate the good times but unfortunatley that does not make it any easier to deal with. Lets have a drink today in the name of Good Times, its only 7:30 so mine will be a bloody mary but good times are worth a toast!

    Matt

     
  2. cuz paul

    May 22, 2007 at 10:35 am

    Hey Joel,
    I think you should say something next time. Principle or not, people need their cages rattled. That punk ass needs to know that it’s not cool. Do you remember that fat guy in the expensive car with his “cane”, at the parking garage in Boston, that bugs me too. He certainly did not have a noticeable limp, but he had a handicap sign. Yeah I know you’re late to an important meeting sir but cheese fries don’t count as a disability, cause if they did, I get the best p-spots in town.

    Sorry for the bitterness, Love,
    Paul

     
  3. Dan Zatkovich

    May 22, 2007 at 1:23 pm

    I don’t think you have enough information to pass judgement. Perhaps he was just having a really good day from a back injury, or you just didn’t happen to observe his handicap.

    There was one time I was in line in a bathroom, and I used the handicap stall because that was the only thing available. When I walked out, a guy in a wheelchair said something to me about it. I ended up arguing with the guy; why did he have a right to not wait in line? I mean, sure, had I used that stall when there were other ones available that would be one thing, but I don’t think his handicap gives him PRIORITY to piss before I do.

    I know there’s a slight difference with the parking spots, and this wasn’t even your issue to begin with. But, I’m going to predict that every one of these comments will be pro-Joel and say that you should have shot the guy. I just think that there’s a reasonable chance that the guy had a handicap you just weren’t able to observe in the few steps from the building to his car.

    I could be wrong, and he could just be a collosal prick, I suppose.

     
  4. Clay

    May 22, 2007 at 1:40 pm

    Hi Joel,
    That was an interesting article on stem cell research. You may have already heard of this company (Neuralstem, Inc.), but I thought you mind find their website and the research they are doing interesting. Sorry I missed your call over the weekend. I’ll give you a ring tonight.
    Clay

    http://www.neuralstem.com/index.asp?pgid=6

     
  5. Sharon Bodle

    May 30, 2007 at 6:55 pm

    Hi Joel,
    The abuse of the handicapped parking is one of my hot buttons. With my father-in-law the tag didn’t get used unless he was in the vehicle. That’s obviously the way it was meant to be used. However, I’ve had a friend get some harassment for having the handicapped tag when she didn’t appear to be handicapped. She has a serious lung problem which is not obvious when you look at her. She’s not usually out shopping on bad days so it’s not easy to observe and make a call as to her handicap with visuals. I’m all for ticketing offenders of the handicap parking spaces. There have even been a couple of articles here in Dayton of individuals placing notices on the autos that did not have the tags displayed – don’t know if their notices did any good or not, but I hope it gave pause to the offenders.

    As to the restroom issue that Dan brought up, I’ve used that stall when there was not a line as it was the only one open as well. I can tell you if you have a hip, knee or back issue preventing you to easily use the low seats vs the higher seat in the handicapped stall, that stall is a blessing.

     

Leave a Reply

 
