RSS

Weekend Time

20 May

Yesterday was a Sunday like no other. The usual sports were on television. Getting the things done that need to be done. Fixing things around the house. Perhaps, doing something fun and active. Thinking about work the next day. These things are typical of the average person. But yesterday, I noticed that as I got up and thought about the day and what I needed to do I didn’t have any of that. I really didn’t have anything I wanted to do or had to do. I think it was a first in twenty years that I didn’t have anything to do on a Sunday. It was kinda hard, because I know if I did not have the accident I would have done a dozen things. I would have gone for a hike and come back for a sub sandwich. After which, I would have gone home and tinkered around the house and finished it with some laundry and house work, which I actually did not think it was so bad. I didn’t think my realization bothered me, but I will I thought to my self…damn.

So, like so much in my life right now I have to find new things to make me happy. On that note I have to of a new list to do. Things I can do on a Sunday. Unfortunately, I don’t really have any ideas. So, I am enlisting the help of readers of this blog to find things to do on a lazy Sunday. I’m really asking for help on this one. So, please any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Other than my lazy Sunday’s I am back at work today. There is a meeting tomorrow afternoon with all the companies big wigs to talk about the direction of my company. I always hope there is something of substance, but I am not expecting much. If there is anything interesting I will let you know.

I guess that is all. Have a good start to your week. I wish all of you the best of luck.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on May 20, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

10 responses to “Weekend Time

  1. Matt

    May 21, 2007 at 6:57 am

    Sundays….. Back in college it was the best day of the week to get past several levels in my Tom Clancy computer games… however what you dont get done on Sunday you skip class or work on Monday to finish up so maybe its not a good idea?? Once you get your bike up and running cant think of a better time to get some good riding in, excersize and get those pipes in some shape!! Cool video by the way, it look fairly smooth to me, those stairs did look short.
    Hope monday treats you well. The anticipation for the town hall meeting is gripping me as well…..(sarcasm ya know).
    Take er easy.

    matt

     
  2. Bryan Yates

    May 21, 2007 at 8:16 am

    In my “old age,” I really love to read the Sunday paper. I look at the whole thing, except the comics. I can easily spend over an hour looking at it. I browse all the ads and see what I can’t afford or what I really want. I also look at the homes for sale.

    Jessica and I also like to go to open houses on Sunday. See what other people do to their houses, see whats for sale. It’s fun

     
  3. Renee

    May 21, 2007 at 9:15 am

    I don’t know if you like pets but you could always volunteer at an animal shelter. I know that animal shelters hold adoption days and they typically look for volunteers to sit and play with the animals while prospective “parents” walk around and try to find a dog/cat. Most places only need volunteers for a one weekend day, or two, during a given month.

    Otherwise, you could do what Clay and I do… Sundays are for going to the bagel shop with our friend John for a late breakfast and while we sit around and chat for a few hours we people watch.

     
  4. Dan Zatkovich

    May 21, 2007 at 9:31 am

    Poker 😉

     
  5. John and Juli Begley

    May 21, 2007 at 2:22 pm

    ~Relax~ There is nothing wrong with a day for relaxing. Other than that…go for a bike ride, take in a sub sandwich, fix things around your house, do laundry etc. I haven’t seen much that you can’t do when you put your mind to it.
    ~Enjoy it~

     
  6. Eric

    May 21, 2007 at 7:01 pm

    How about doing absolutely freaking NOTHING. We all spend so much time in our lives running around accomplishing “tasks”, doing this, doing that. How about a day where you aren’t accountable to anyone or anything? I’m not a religous chap, but didn’t God create Sundays for CHILLING OUT? If you’re confused, please refer to the ridiculously funny SNL digital short “Lazy Sunday”.

    Love ya Joel!

     
  7. Sharon Bodle

    May 21, 2007 at 7:38 pm

    I can’t really remember the last really “free” day I have had.
    1. Read a book. 2. Go to the movies. 3. Visit a museum.
    4. Go to the zoo – that’s too hot for this time of year in Phoenix, so wait until fall. 5. Sleep late, have coffee or tea while reading the newspaper front to back. 6. Call an old friend and catch up. 7. Listen to some great music (there is this group called The Grown Up Noise that’s really, really good – check them out on the web until their album is out). I’m quite certain I could come up with more if I tried, but I can’t imagine doing any of this without putting it on the schedule. That includes doing absolutely nothing – just ask Beth!

    Sharon

     
  8. Maria

    May 21, 2007 at 8:51 pm

    Since moving in with a “radio” person I have grown a new appreciation for public radio. Shows like “This American Life” or “Prarie Home Companion”. There are also some really cool pod casts you can download. My roommate actually puts out a podcast called “Love and Radio” which I find to be awsome. Sundays seem to be the days these shows are on or if you get the podcast, the best time to listen.

     
  9. Jess

    May 21, 2007 at 11:46 pm

    One of my friends has a bit of extra time on her hands. She’s always wanted kids of her own, and is really great with kids. Now she volunteers as a “big sister” at a boys and girls club. She generally meets up with her ‘sister’ on Sundays. They are completely flexible with your schedule. You can have short outings, go to the zoo, to a movie , or chill out where ever, play games.
    You were amazing with Ray Ray? while at Craig. Very patient with him and he looked up to you as a big brother. I’m sure there is some other kid in the need for a great role model. You can go to In-n-Out and order off the ‘secret menu’!!!
    You are doing awesome Joel!!!
    Love,
    Jess

     
  10. Laurie Marta

    May 22, 2007 at 10:54 am

    Hi Joel,

    What can you do on a Sunday? (1). Go out for breakfast, and then take a drive through some scenic area, like Tucson’s Saguaro Forest; (2.) Go to the Heard (sp.) Museum if they are open on Sundays; (3). Go to a park and people watch; (4). Go to a hobby shop and find an indoor hobby that might interest you; (5). Get some canvasses/acrylic paints and pour out your feelings; (6). Start your book

    Whatever you do have fun,

    Laurie

     

Leave a Reply

 
