RSS

Summer

19 May

Summer is here in Phonenix. It has gotten pretty hot here. I have noticed that I move a lot faster now the temps have reached over 100 degrees. The summer here is a lot the winter of the northeast. It is long and by October you are wishing for a 90 degreee day. The summer is long and frustrating. As far as plans for the summer I don’t have a lot of plans. I am going to San Diego this weekend for a college graduation, for those checking this is number 2 on my list of things to do. I would like to go to Portland, Or to visit my brother. I would like to also get out of the heat to visit mom and her new house. I am also sure I am going to head north Flagstaff for a couple of days.

So, Erika left today for 2 and half months. I am going to miss her soo much. To deal with the separation I am looking into spending a weekend cycling Napa Valley. I will have to go through a tour group since I will need someone to bring my chair with us as we ride and make the stops at the different wineries. I also want to spend a weekend in SF. I have spent a lot of time there and I absolutly love the city. I am counting down the days till she gets back. Her support and love of me over the past months as been beyond words. I sometimes can’t believe that she as remained by my side through this challenging time. Her spirit and compassion is inspiring to me. I just want to get to a place that I can give her all that she has given me.

I called another Craig graduate today. It is this woman that got ran over by a car as she rode her bike. She is married to a man name Wyatt Earp. Yep, He is a decendent of the man. He is a strong man, just like his wife that is now a quadrapeligic. I may go up to see them today to see how there adjustment back into their new life has gone. I really drift toward those who know and understand what it is like since our injuries. It is comforting interacting with those who have seen all the challenges associated with rebuilding our lives.

It has been just over 5 months since my accident and I still keep the hope that my legs will comeback. I am always hoping that there is something different with my legs. When ever I think that my legs seem to feel different I hope that it is the start of the return of my legs. I can’t count count the times I hope that this is the day it all starts. Needless to say, I have been disapointed a number of times. But, I still keep hope even though that everyday that passes the chances of getting my legs back are less and less. And for everyday I don’t get return in my body I watch a little more on the Internet for spinal cord injury research.

Right before Erika left we went to play poker at a friends place and I go video of us trying to get down a set of stair. I can say this it was not text book. The people at Craig would have been disapointed. to our defense they were short stair.

Well, have a great Sunday. I always enjoyed Sunday’s. it was the one day of the week you could just do what ever you wanted.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 19, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

2 responses to “Summer

  1. mb

    May 20, 2007 at 6:07 am

    Joel,
    Your attitude continues to make me smile! You are learning that you are defined by your sense of purpose in life, and your purpose is blossoming….
    Enjoy your time in San Diego and keep practicing those stairs!
    Cheers,
    MB

     
  2. Sharon Bodle

    May 20, 2007 at 11:59 am

    Joel,

    I hate to admit it, but I have an issue with stairs that are not the standard tread height whether it be deeper or shallower than expected. Usually the shallower steps give me fits as I step down expecting the normal tread depth and then it is a little bit of a jolt when it’s too short. You guys made it down the stairs without dumping out of the chair, So although it wasn’t quite what you were able to do while at Craig it was still a success!
    I love SanDiego. I’ll be thinking happy thoughts as you are out there enjoying it!

    Sharon

     

Leave a Reply

 
