RSS

Breaching Tree Line

22 Apr

This past week I reached a milestone. It is similar when you are hiking and you breach the tree line. You can see for miles and miles. I don’t know about you but it is almost as awesome as summiting the peak. Anyway, I finally purchased a car and I’m now independent. I did purchase the Honda Element. The next day I went to get the hand control installed andIi drove away. I wish I could explain the feeling I had as I drove away. I think I just found things to do so I could drive. I felt like a man again.

I got in the hot tub agian a couple of nights ago. I will admit I couldn’t do it without Erika. She helps me get back into my chair. That is the only help I need. I’ll get it one of these days.

I rolled over to the closest gas station to get a Gatorade and as I started back it hit me. I am sure it has happenned to all of you. I realized the gravity of my situation. I wouldn’t say it was hard. This realization was more like….wow, is this really happening.

I have some pictures of the Element and I will upload them tonight for tomorrow. It really does look good. Secondly, I have always named my vehicles and I need a name for the Element. So, I am taking suggestions.

Have a good day everyone. I’m on my way to Yuma to visit a buddy from Craig. It will to see someone else form Craig. I will let you know how it goes.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 22, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

4 responses to “Breaching Tree Line

  1. Matthew Unger

    April 23, 2007 at 5:46 am

    Glad to hear you got the ride, Joel.

    I am going to work for Kitchell, starting next week, and guess where i’m heading for the next year or 2 atleast………………YUMA, lol.

    maybe enxt time you go down to visit him, if you do, you can stop by and we’ll have a brew, lol.

     
  2. Matt

    April 23, 2007 at 11:37 am

    How bout Hoopty 1 or the bronze bomber… I dont know. I can only imagine how good it is to get that mobility back!!! Happy for you man. I am excited to drive the rig myself, that would be pretty cool. Not much is better than breaching the tree line, glad to hear you have done it yet again, I know it wont be your last.
    Matt

     
  3. John and Juli Begley

    April 23, 2007 at 5:02 pm

    “Viajes” which is spanish for “Journey” or “Your travels”.

     
  4. Angie Florine

    April 30, 2007 at 3:00 pm

    HEY!!!! Lt. Dan!!!! Sounds like things are going just my way, up and down!!! Still trying to settle in and figure out life…..as for naming your ride…I am not good at this ….how about something as simple as Ellie or hell I don’t know.

     

Leave a Reply

 
