RSS

17 Apr

Overall today was a good day. It didn’t start off well though. When I was in the shower I slipped off my shower chair. Don’t worry though because I was able to get myself back up. I will admit I didn’t get up quickly. I tried to just pull myself up and failed. Instead of thinking about the best way to get up I just did something. After a minute of failing to get back up on the chair I stopped and thought about the best way to get back up on the chair. And you know what… I thought it out and I got right back up with no problems. This was a great example of how I need to think things out before I do. I was never good at that. But, I am get better everyday.

After finally get dressed I made my way to the bus stop so I meet Erika at ASU to cook dinner at the Ronald McDonald House. After spending a bit of time in a hospital myself it feels good to give back to someone in the same position. I had a huge amount of support during my time at the hospital and to give someone else a little bit of help was nice. This is something I wil be doing again.

Since my time in the hospital I have thought about giving back to someone that may need some help. With all the support and help I recieved it is time to pay it forward. When I got home tonight I thought that cheering up children at Childrens Hospital would be a great idea. So, I am going to try that. I will let you know how it goes when I do it.

I talked to the carsalesman today and we decided on a price for the Element I want. So, today I am going to pull the trigger. Erika will drive it until I get the needed modifications. Plus, it is easier to get into the Element that Erika’s Corrola. I will get you pictures tomorrow.

This is the last update. With an idea from someone who has gone through what Erika and I are going through I found someone who will help me with cleaning up my apartment. It takes me so long now and getting someone to help will allow me to do other things. Plus, Erika doesn’t feel the need to clean when she comes over. This is a win-win. The person is a woman who lives in the apartment complex and is happy to just help. According to her she has the time and could use a little extra money.

Today was a good day. Check one in the win box.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 17, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

3 responses to “

  1. Janis

    April 18, 2007 at 7:44 am

    Joel,
    Sounds like your thinking things through more and more. You will become an ace problem solver. It’sis kinda fun figuring out the best and easiest way to do things, a real creative exercise. I am looking forward to the update from your visit with the kids. Maybe not fart tennis but something equally gross will thrill the kids. I remember Thurston’s best thing when he was littile and in the hospital for surgery was a toy toliet that spurt water when you opened it. He laughed and laughed everytime someone opened it. You didn’t say what color Element. I went to the web site and saw the options. Very cool. I vote for the Tngerine, easy to spot in a parking lot. I had a red Honda hatchback that I loved. Here’s to more good days than bad. much love, Janis

     
  2. Clay

    April 18, 2007 at 9:10 am

    Joel,
    It was great to see you over the weekend, even though it was for a short time. Getting involved in the community and helping others is the right way to go. I know my mom found it therapeutic to help others and I think it took her mind off her own battle with diabetes. Here’s to the victories in life (small and large) and more good days ahead!
    Clay

     
  3. Matthew Unger

    April 18, 2007 at 11:30 am

    sounds like the PTP from work, with figuring stuff out, lol.

    Guess in my next job, i’ll try bugging all the subs on site about doing those, lol.

    can’t wait to see the car once you get it all setup for ya. make sure to psot some pics of it 😀

     

Leave a Reply

 
