RSS

Odd Encounters

16 Apr

Ever since my accident I have been similar to a young child. Just like a young child they are open to everything around them. As they experience new things they take the whole experience in. I have been just like that.

Let me explain where I am going with this. A couple of days ago I was waiting for the bus and this woman was waiting for the bus as well. It was only a couple of seconds before she started talking to me about her and her life. And, let me tell you her life was very scary. She proceeds to tell me about her drug use, sex life, and boyfriends. I won’t get into the details. She then admitted to me that her choice of lifestyle was a reaction to her lack of self confidence. She didn’t like herself, as she said. Then on Sunday, I was waiting for the bus again and a woman with here family was waiting for the bus. She, again, began to tell me her life story. She was a woman that had a family that was active in her church. Of course, she inquired about me and my chair. I explain to her about what happened and what I was doing now. Before I know I was in a conversation about religion and “God” and getting invited to visit her church.

The reason I am telling you these stories is because I am a man at a crossroads. The two women represent possible lifestyle choice that I can make. I can either live a life of “sin” or I can live the life of “God”. I will admit that these two lifestyles are on the opposite ends of the spectrum and neither one has any attraction for me. These two interactions captured my attention because I need to be careful not to follow those paths. I am probably reading too much into these interactions, but I will always remember them as something not for me.

This is going to a be a short post today. Come back tomorrow for some good pictures and stories.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on April 16, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

5 responses to “Odd Encounters

  1. eecarson

    April 16, 2007 at 3:50 pm

    Great insight Joel- that really is two opposite ends of the spectrum and reading your story makes me think of moderation and how we can learn so much from the opposite ends, and find the good parts of each. (and learn from the not so good parts!) Life’s full of interesting stories! Miss you lots and hope all is doing well. I look forward to seeing your mama this upcoming weekend. I miss having Yates’ around. 🙂

     
  2. Matt

    April 16, 2007 at 3:51 pm

    Lookin forward to the pictures homeslice.
    Matt

     
  3. Elna and George

    April 16, 2007 at 4:12 pm

    Wow, interesting story! It sounds like Scrooge being visited by the 3 ghosts in “A Christmas Carol”. So be aware of a 3rd visitor next time you are at the bus stop. It may be the one you want to follow.
    FYI, we got chilled and drenched here in the northeast for the last couple of days. It wasn’t as bad as they predicted, though…but it usually isn’t.
    Keep up the great posts. Your story is both inspiring and fascinating.
    Love and hugs, E & G…

     
  4. Eric

    April 17, 2007 at 4:34 pm

    Joel,

    Awesome post! Your ability to glean meaning from an everyday experience is unique. My vote is with Elna & George…look for the third ghost for direction.

    Be good,
    Eric

     
  5. big jonny

    April 20, 2007 at 11:22 pm

    Yo man, it’s like football – split the uprights.

    Straight down the middle. Not too crazy, not to clean. Have a good time, don’t hurt anyone. Especially not yourself.

    It’s the wildebeests out in front or behind the herd who are taken down by the lions. Right here in the middle of the pack, its nice and safe. Stay here with me a while.

    We can get crazy the next time Grant gets married…

     

Leave a Reply

 
