RSS

Just Do Something

11 Apr

Tonight was a awaking for me. Today, like most days it was difficult to get out of bed. And what I mean the act of just getting out of bed is tough, if not exhausting. So, I just stayed in bed for the most of the day. I am not proud of this admission, but it’s true. Fortunately for me, Erika stopped by. With her ever present enjoyment of life, she insisted I get out of bed and get into the hot tub. With resistance and frustration, I reluctantly agreed. At the time I didn’t want to, but she would not have let it go if I didn’t try. I just assumed that I wouldn’t enjoy it. The few times I have been in water since the accident I only get frustrated by the realization of what I lost.

So, I got on a pair of shorts on and we head off the hot tub. With a couple of transfers, I was in the hot tub. I wasn’t sure how to get settled in and enjoy the warmth. I dunked my head into the warm water I had this sense of pleasure and “zen”. Erika and I sat in this hot tub in Arizona and just held each other. I just wanted to hold on and never let go. I felt good. She was right. My own mind wouldn’t accept that I could enjoy the hot tub.

The funny this is that each day is can be very dynamic, and I can make the decisions to turn things around. If I hadn’t gotten into the hot tub tonight I would have only spiraled downward. We all have the ability to take actions to turn around our day, Just doing something is better than nothing at all. Like I have said before. The mind and body connection is critical. By doing something with my body that made my body feel good, my mind followed. I feel good again. I owe Erika a many thanks for making me do something.

Keep all this in mind when you come home from a bad day at work, or any other thing that is troubling you. A simple walk to the park, a bike ride, or a trip to the hot tub will make a huge difference in how you feel.

Tomorrow I am going to ASU. I learned that I can access the recreation center there for a very cheap price. It has equipment that is accessible for me. I always like hanging out at the ASU campus.

Today is here…so do something.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on April 11, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

6 responses to “Just Do Something

  1. Laurie Marta

    April 12, 2007 at 2:42 am

    Dear Joel,

    This is a delayed comment on intimacy, but it applies to what you’ve just said. You are capturing the intimacy you thought was now missing from your life. It is still there. The intimacy you talked about is in holding onto the one you love no matter where you are. It is looking in their eyes and seeing a reflection of the love you feel. When love is real, intimacy comes as natural as the sun’s rising and setting. You don’t have to make it happen, it is there in a look or a touch that goes straight to the heart. It is a reciprocal thing. I believe you will find the intimacy surfacing more and more as you regain your confidence, which will come as you find new ways of doing things. Believe in yourself.

    Laurie

     
  2. Mel Benedict

    April 12, 2007 at 8:38 pm

    ur the best

     
  3. Amy Hansen

    April 13, 2007 at 5:13 am

    As always Joel, thanks for your words of wisdom. You are correct in saying sometimes it’s easier to get sucked into a bad day than doing something about it. But you’re right, we certainly have control over doing something to make ourselves feel better …Most of the time. I will do my best to remind myself of this on those days!

     
  4. Matt

    April 13, 2007 at 3:17 pm

    Caught up on my Joel posts, these were good ones, every one of them like usual. I have to say it is extremely difficult to not comment on Al Gore, I am biting my digital tongue right now, so I will send my opinions subliminally…………. you know what I am sayin?? Glad to hear the car thing is almost worked out, excited to see pictures of the new ride. I will definitely remember the advice when I come home from a bad day as they are occurring more frequently these days, very astute observation and I know it will help!!!
    Keep on keepin’ on. Have a great weekend buddy!
    Matt

     
  5. Janis

    April 16, 2007 at 7:39 am

    Joel,
    It’s great that you have someone in Erika that will push you and that you love, trust her enough to do it when you don’t want to. Everyone should have that. It is so true all that mind stuff. Our obstacles come more from our own minds that from outside. I think from now on that instead of saying “Have a good day” I am going to change it to “Have a good attitude”. Much love, Janis

     
  6. Matthew Unger

    April 17, 2007 at 1:21 pm

    Joel,

    glad to hear things are going good. To bad I probably won’t see you when you come back to work. The 27th is my last day with Kinetics.

     

Leave a Reply

 
