RSS

100th Post…What a Milestone!!!!

06 Apr

Let me start off by saying this is a milestone, and one of many more to come. This post is the 100th since the inception of this blog. I and others have written about my progress since the accident. I have written a lot about the ups and downs that I have encountered. I have been very open and honest about my journey. I have found this blog very therapeutic for me. I hope to continue this blog for a long time to come. I hope all of you are around and reading this blog when I get to 200, 500, and 1,000. All of you out there in Internet land deserve a big thanks too. Many of have written in and made some very inspirational thoughts. Many of the comments have helped me and made me stronger. So…thank you.

After the big push to get things done while mom was here, I decided to relax and rest. I did get out and visit Best Buy, which I always enjoy. I really don’t have a need for most of what is sold there, but it is fun to look at the big televisions. While I was there, a photographer asked a salesperson and I to be photographed for a story about Best Buy. When I left, I called my reporter brother (Phill) in Texas to keep his eyes out for a story about the store. Two hours later he said he found the story and me in the AP wire. So, keep your eyes out for a story about Best Buy, because you just may see good ole’ Joel in the picture. Below, Phill found the picture of me on the Internet. click on the last word of Phill’s post below mine. I look great.

A couple of days ago, I had the opportunity to see Al Gore speak on the ASU campus. It was very similar to the presentation given in his movie. The best part of the story was, we were four rows back! I could see the sweat on Al’s forehead. Without getting into a long discussion on the topic I was really humbled to hear what he had to say. If you haven’t seen the movie “An Inconvenient Truth”, I would recommend it. All of us need to do something. I will post a picture of him when I get a chance.

The other day while I was out I had an encounter that really caught my attention. I had to get through a door and it took a bit to get through it. There was this nice lady there as well. As I was getting through the door I was slowed a bit. She noticed me as I was getting through the door. Before I go further; me getting through some doors sometimes looks like I am struggling, but I am not. So going back, I was getting through this door she felt the need to help me and open the door for me. I nicely let her know that I was alright and I didn’t need help, at least I think I said it nicely. I did not know the exact words she said back to me, but it was like she didn’t hear me. I can’t count the number of times that I was at a door and someone helped me and I let them know I was ok and they continue to help me. It is like that since I am in a wheelchair that I must need help. I have become frustrated by the fact that everywhere I go people feel need to open doors for me. I will be the first to admit that I am a bit sensitive about this issue, but I just wish that when someone tries to help me; that when I say I am ok they hear me and continue with what they were doing. I guess that people just what to help and I do appreciate that though. But opening doors for me doesn’t help me.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on April 6, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

5 responses to “100th Post…What a Milestone!!!!

  1. John and Juli Begley

    April 7, 2007 at 6:16 am

    They open doors for me too…I’m just an old lady…I open doors for people older than I am as well. It’s just a courtesy. Mom’s struggling with strollers and/or children, I hold the door. I never liked it when I was on campus, I guess it was because I am in my late 40’s and my classmates were in their 20’s, I wanted to be considered an equal…but then I accepted it as a simple show of courtesy. Open the door and hold it for someone, woman, elder etc….
    Appreciate the human kindness that is expressed now as it is almost a lost art.

     
  2. Beth Hansen

    April 7, 2007 at 3:15 pm

    Man, I know that’s annoying. I can only imagine it–I don’t know how many times that has happened to me when carrying something heavy.

    It’s only slightly related but I HATE when patients ask where the strong man is when I’m going to help them out of bed. “Oh honey, you’d better get some help.”

    I agree with Juli though, it is nice to know the help is still out there.

    By the way, you do look good in the best buy pic!

     
  3. Sharon Bodle

    April 7, 2007 at 5:46 pm

    Joel, I don’t know how I’ve timed this to comment just after Beth a couple of times – lucky I guess.

    I can see how this ignoring of what you say can be frustrating. Keep in mind, some people just do not listen to others no matter what the topic or if they have asked a question requiring a response. I am just so glad that help is out there. In my case, my inability to open heavy doors or lift items that are over about eight pounds is not visible to others. I have to ask for help somewhat regularly. Most times the person asked is very willing to assist. Sometimes I receive puzzled looks, but very seldom am I disappointed in the reaction or response. I try to hold doors, that I am able to open, for others as a courtesy. Perhaps there is also a little of the “pay it forward” in there too.

    Great picture! You look mightly comfortable in the tee shirt without a jacket on – today was sweatshirt and coat weather here.

     
  4. Jess

    April 8, 2007 at 10:22 am

    Great picture!! I want to let you know that even though I don’t post as much I still read your day to day progress. I really want you to keep the blog rolling along, FOREVER.
    Try to keep in mind it’s human nature for people to help others. That is something I remind myself when people offer to help me. Now I love it, just kick back and (try to) relax.
    You seem to be getting along great. When my friends ask about you they are shocked to hear that you are completely living on your own and getting around. So give yourself a big pat on the back.
    Hopefully we will see you soon,
    Jess

     
  5. Laurie Marta

    April 8, 2007 at 4:41 pm

    Dear Joel,

    Happy Easter! I have been reading your posts and think about what you say each time well beyond the moment of reading. First of all, I want to comment on what you just mentioned. Of course you are sensitive to people holding the door for you because you know you are perfectly capable of doing it yourself. It all goes along with independence. As others have commented, keep in mind that it is a natural thing to hold the door for someone. Just the other day I held the door for a young man in a wheelchair, not because I thought he could not do it himself, but because I was there. I will remember though to be sensitive to others and ask if they want my help before I step in and do it. People don’t mean to be insensitive. I am not dismissing your feelings here, but try to see the kindness in the act; it might help you.

    I was also thinking about your pink couch and wondered what shade of pink it is. Boy, you sure can do a lot with pink. It goes with so many color combinations. As you look around, you will see shades of pink everywhere. My favorite place to see pink is in the sunset. Pink rocks!

    Take care, Joel, and keep on keepin on.

    Laurie

     

Leave a Reply

 
