RSS

Getting it done…

03 Apr

So good ole’ mom came to Arizona to get things done. Since getting back to Arizona I have been working non-stop on tasks that need to happen. I needed to setup cable, I needed to get Internet, I needed a couch. I needed to hang my John Elway singed picture, find a place to get any needed medical supplies, find a car. The tasks I needed to get done have been endless. And the best way to track the things that need to happen is with…lists. Everyday since the day I returned to Arizona I have lived by my lists. Over the last week I have been fed up with my lists and tasks. All I talked about with family and friends is my lists. I hate lists.

The good news is that since mom came to Arizona with some hard work, focus, and persistance we were able to get over the hump in my lists. She leaves town with an apartment that is more than a bed and couple of tables. It is somewhat comfortable. By god, I have a John Elway shrine. I guess with all this work I can start to learn to live life again. I can begin to have the daily habits. I can start to get back to the mundane.

Before I forget my couch is…pink. That is right…pink. Since my pink water bottle I have had a pink niche. I am going to get a picture with my on my pink couch with my over sized margarita glasses.

The last few days have been difficult in many different ways. The progress has been more than with my apartment. I am still trying to figure out what has happened over the last few days. I am going to share my observations over the next week. Life is different now and I see thing diferently.

Well, today is Tuesday and that means it is time to tip back a Manhattan. I know mom and I have earned it.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on April 3, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

8 responses to “Getting it done…

  1. Holly & Bob Asmuth

    April 4, 2007 at 8:16 am

    Getting things done! It is a good thing. Gets you back into a routine.Routine is Good! You definitely will be getting in touch with your feminine side with the groovin pink leather sofa. Hope your not planning on getting a pink car and start selling Mary Kay cosmetics. I am sure your mom kicked your butt around and got alot of things accomplished. You know how those Thurston girls like to complete tasks. Hang in there Joel! Everyday will be a new adventure. Not all pleasant. But you can do it. We love you and know you will conquer. Bob & Holly

     
  2. Matt

    April 4, 2007 at 9:44 am

    Good work buddy!! I second the notion that a pink car, especially an Element would be taking it to far. However, i think the signed Elway poster tips the man scale in your favor despite a giant pink couch in your living room. I hope you can get over the ‘pre-facilitation’ phase soon as they are tiring and arduous. I know your hard work and determination will speed up the transition. As always good to hear from ya and looking forward to your observations this week.
    Take care,
    matt

     
  3. mb

    April 4, 2007 at 10:12 am

    Joel,
    They say pink can be a stimulating color. Not sure that is a good thing on a couch, but, hey! I knew Rory would enjoy cozying up your apartment, and help give you a new perspective in many different ways. Moms are good for lots of things, and your Mom is one of the best. Keep up your list mania, and you’ll feel accomplished with each item you cross off. We miss your smile! đŸ™‚
    Cheers,
    M & Ron

     
  4. Peter Scanlon

    April 4, 2007 at 10:21 am

    Pink = it’s the new black.

    P

     
  5. MAtthew Unger

    April 4, 2007 at 11:57 am

    lol, good to hear things are still going for ya, to some extent. Nothing wrong with pink or purple for that matter, but hey……..I’m married, and my vote on the household stuff/colors doesn’t count, lol.

    still on the hunt for a car?? for the older ones, should try either ebay or craigslist, there’s always good deals to be found there.

     
  6. Beth Hansen

    April 4, 2007 at 3:00 pm

    leave it to rory! i know that woman can get things done. pink is a nice touch–the softer side of joel.

     
  7. Sharon Bodle

    April 5, 2007 at 6:24 pm

    Can’t wait for the picture of the pink couch! I personally live with lists at work and at home. I call them my sanity savers.

    Seeing Rory get the floral arrangements going for Beth and Paul’s wedding with the help of your other aunts was amazing. She’s got my vote to get things done in a pinch or otherwise.

     
  8. Mel Benedict

    April 6, 2007 at 5:53 am

    didn’t John Elway play tennis or something???? and i think he has a pink couch……..

     

Leave a Reply

 
