RSS

Changes

30 Mar

I was riding the bus to the ASU campus a couple of days ago, yes I was riding the bus, and I wondered how did I get here. I thought back a couple years and I never thought that life would end up as it did. I am not even talking about the injury. When I moved to Phoenix a couple of years ago I was focused on finishing my project here and moving on. I never expected what would happen after moving to Arizona again. Within months I fell in love with a girl and grew to love what Phoenix has to offer. I went on a spectactular trip to Vietnam. I rode my mountain bike from Flagstaff to the Grand Canyon. When I moved to Phoenix I never thought that the Valley of the Sun would be my home, but it is.

When I look back over the last two years I had the sense that the smallest events made the biggest difference in the direction of my life. The type of events like meeting a girl over cake and everclear. This changed the direction of my life yet it took many, many months for my to notice the new direction. The first time I hiked in the Superstition Mountains I was unaware of that impact on my life. I really found a great appreciatoin for those mountains that day. I have come to believe that those changes and new experiences in my life are ones that sometimes make the most impact on how life manages to progress.

Mom came down to Arizona for a visit to help out with somethings here. I am sure with her method of accomplishing tasks it should be an interesting couple of days.

As far as getting a new vehicle if I get a modern one it will very probalbly be the Honda Element. The only problem I see with it is that it sits a little high. To solve this problem I am looking to get hydralics placed on the vehicle. I am also going to get some good looking rims. If I can get some hydralics and dubs that would be the best option of all.

I met with a woman yesterday that works for the disabilites office on the ASU campus. I went in there because even though I am not student I still could get some help. As it turned out it I got quite a bit of help. The woman is the same level of injury as me and her help was greatly appreciated.

Today is Friday so have a great weekend. Tip one back for me.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on March 30, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

10 responses to “Changes

  1. Karyl

    March 30, 2007 at 4:32 pm

    Dear Joel, When I read about your feelings about the changes in your life, I surely did empathize with you. It sounds like grief to me, grieving over the things you’ve lost. I’m having the same feelings…nothing will ever be the same again, a veritable paradigm shift…When will it be better, who knows. Thank goodness you have Erika, someone to share whatever may come. Having some one (or something) else to think about helps alot. It takes you out of yourself, even if you aren’t any happier, at least you manage to get through another day. LOVE THE BIKE!!

     
  2. Bryan Yates

    March 30, 2007 at 8:40 pm

    Tip one back for me

     
  3. T

    March 30, 2007 at 9:53 pm

    i think you still should go to the muscle car if you can, and the element does’nt work out.
    T

     
  4. mb

    March 31, 2007 at 10:51 am

    Joel,
    It is the little things that shape our futures, Lke our enjoying John Denver in Ron’s dorm room in upstate NY in 71′, backpacking in CO in 76′, and then deciding to find a way to stay in CO by starting a business in 83’…
    You’ll have lots of paths along the way to chose from, and you will pick the ones best for you.
    Glad to hear you are taking the bus (Ron has been in RTD ads), and we are a Honda family (Ron’s civic hybrid, Coilin’s 92′ accord, Odyssey mini van in HI). You’ll make a good decision.
    We miss you…Enjoy the sunshine!
    Cheers,
    MB & Ron

     
  5. Peter Scanlon

    March 31, 2007 at 12:07 pm

    Joel,

    I dig the Element idea – boxy cool, with better gas mileage.

    Re: rims/hydraulics – Bling, bling, biatch!

    Cheers,

    P

     
  6. John and Juli Begley

    March 31, 2007 at 7:29 pm

    God above has a special purpose for you, young Mr. Joel….You have already inspired many….and your forward strides are nothing short of amazing. Keep up all your wonderful work. All of us out here in internet land watch, wait and wonder if we can ever amount to the person you have become. I am so proud to know you.

     
  7. Dyan Orsello

    April 1, 2007 at 9:22 pm

    Joel,

    I know it’s been a while since the last time I wrote and it won’t
    happen again. I’m sorry that it has been more difficult than you expected it would be, after leaving Craig. I’m sure, in time, with all the support you have from friends, family and internet land, there will be more good days than bad. Do whatever you need to do to lessen the pain, but just make sure you don’t smoke and ride or drive that cool vehicle you are planning to get.

    Love you,
    Dyan

     
  8. NORM BIEHL

    April 2, 2007 at 9:18 am

    Good Morning my friend ! ! ! !Good to hear your getting out a bit.Are you doing any psycial theripy since going back to the desert? I can remember going for about six months after moving on from my accident.It was good and gave me something to get into three days a week.Now on to the game look for the GATORS TO ROCK TONIGHT! ! ! ! ! ! Say hay to your mom for us,thak at you soon N & S……..

     
  9. NORM BIEHL

    April 2, 2007 at 9:18 am

    Good Morning my friend ! ! ! !Good to hear your getting out a bit.Are you doing any psycial theripy since going back to the desert? I can remember going for about six months after moving on from my accident.It was good and gave me something to get into three days a week.Now on to the game look for the GATORS TO ROCK TONIGHT! ! ! ! ! ! Say hay to your mom for us,thak at you soon N & S……..

     
  10. Matt

    April 3, 2007 at 10:16 am

    Looking back, small things do make a substatial impact on your direction in life. I think its great you have been able to identify the important ones and can fully appreciate them now. That perspective can really help one to appreciate the small things as they are happening, great insight joel. Honda elements are cool but what about dual exhaust, the sound of a big block, peelin out whenever you want too?? You know my stance on the environment, its not going anywhere, so why not drive a big block?? if you put on hydros and dubs, you can’t drive into certain parts of town anymore, and with AZ so close to the border, it will probably be unwillingly removed from your possesion quite quickly. have fun shopping around though, i am excited for you! FYI they do have air suspensions that you can control with a keyless remote to go up and down, they can travel up to 8 in up and down, might be worth lookin into. Take it easy buddy, enjoy the hot DRY air, Texas humidity is killing me!!!!
    matt

     

Leave a Reply

 
