RSS

Society

25 Mar

Since my return to society I have notice my reality, or perception, of the society around me has changed. I used to be this tall, large individual that people didn’t even notice me or didn’t care to notice me. That is not the case now. I am person that people notice and are friendly too. They open doors for me. They give me a smile and say hello. I am in society now and I am treated so much better. My guess is that people look at me and think that I need help. They may have a sense to feel sorry for me. Even sometimes they look at me and think that they are grateful they are not in my situation. I don’t think I will totally understand my new reality in society, but I do know I am not viewed the as the same person from before. I went from the tallest man in the room to the shortest.

So, yesterday Big Pun and Double-A-Ron came from Flagstaff to get me to a wedding there. I had a lot of help from them which made this first adventure easy. They were very helpful which made my life easier. Hanging out and doing some of the things that I did before was a great spirit booster.

When I got to Flagstaff I had lunch with an old friend that I hadn’t seen since my time in the Flagstaff Hospital. It was nice to see her and hear that everything was going well. I had the sense that she enjoyed seeing me up and living again. Those around me that hadn’t seen me in some time take comfort in the fact that everything seems to be going ok, of coarse they understand that I do have my down times.

The wedding was good. The back drop for the wedding was the beautiful San Francisco Peaks, but due to inclement weather the clouds covered the peaks. It was still a nice ceremony. I did have to roll for about 60 feet in dirt to where the ceremony was. I did find it easier that I expected. Once the ceremony was completed the wedding had all the usual traditions. The bestman and bridesmaid speeches. Every wedding I have been to the bestman has some topics in his mind and flies by the seat of his pants. The bridesmaid has five pages of stuff and can barely get through it because she is crying the entire time. The ceremonial first dances. Throwing of the bouquet. After which everyone headed off to the bars for a couple more belts. I was out for a while but my back really started to hurt and I got a ride home.

This morning I got a ride back to Phoenix and I am home safe and sound. After my trip I had a realization. Back in the day I used the cliché; Same S@#t, different day. My new cliché is now New S@#t, different day. Because there are so many things that are so different from before and everyday I have to figure something new out.

Have a great week everyone.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 25, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

Leave a Reply

 
