RSS

Back Home

18 Mar

I am finally home after three months of living in a hospital and learning to live again. On my way to the airport I was not sure what to expect. Was every going to be ok? Did I have the abilities to make it on my own? Will life seem normal again? It has been two days since Erika and I landed in Phoenix and there have been some triumphs and challenges. The good news is that there were more triumphs than challenges on day two than day one. I am hoping that trend continues for weeks and months to come.

My first day was full of activities. I needed some things for the apartment. We figured that I got in and out of my chair 20 plus times. During the middle of the day a nap was required. I just ran out of juice. Without Erika and her mom I don’t know how I could have gotten back on my feet without her here. This morning Erika’s mom brought over a bags and bags of food for the apartment. Thanks to Janice for her help. The apartment has everything I need now I have to get out of bed every morning.

Since getting back to Arizona I have not had a chance to go car shopping. I have been looking around and I still think the Nissan minivan is the ticket. Since my return to Arizona I have had the chance to into and out of a number of different vehicles. The larger SUV’s are easier to get my body into but their height makes them tough over the long term. As soon as I go shopping I am sure I will have a good idea what I will get.

Yesterday was St. Patrick’s Day. I went with some friends from NAU and headed off to an Irish bar to celebrate. I was nice to get out and do the things I did before. Yes, I spent time at bars and drank beer before. The thing that I noticed is that people that would have ignored my before now are nice and say hello. I suppose that I am a different person, on the outside, and people see me being out is a big deal. I personally don’t think it was a big deal, but this is what I have to do. I don’t have a choice.

I have been home two days and I this is difficult to admit this but since leaving Craig I miss it a bit. Over two plus month I found new friends that were dealing with the same injury as me. It is hard to explain, but it is true. I miss the comfort of Craig. It may be Stockholm Syndrome or something else, but the safety and camaraderie is something at time I have missed.

Well, have a great week. My posts may be off and on as I don’t have Internet yet. I will let all of you know when do.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on March 18, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

11 responses to “Back Home

  1. Laurie Marta

    March 19, 2007 at 4:23 am

    Hi Joel,

    It is good to hear that things are coming together. Nothing wrong with having a few beers with your friends. Were the beers green?

    Happy car hunting, Laurie

     
  2. Bernadette and Gil

    March 19, 2007 at 6:24 am

    Joel,
    It was great reading the blog this morning. It sounds like you were busy. Hope everything continues to improve for you. Have a great week!

     
  3. Matt

    March 19, 2007 at 6:41 am

    Good to hear from you Joel. it’s great you finally get to be home, you worked extremely hard to get to this point!!! I dig the Nissan Minivans, they are fast and ride super nice. Good luck car shopping, its a favorite pastime of mine! I hope your successes continue as I am sure they will and looking forward to your new blogs from home!!
    matt

     
  4. Loren and Susan Melvin

    March 19, 2007 at 6:42 am

    Hi Joel and Erika,

    Glad to hear you are back in Arizona. It sounds like the two

    of you have been busy. It’s great that Erika’s mom is there

    to do what mom’s do. Take good care of yourself Joel.

    I’ll be looking forward to your next post.

    Love,Love Susan and Loren

     
  5. Matthew Unger

    March 19, 2007 at 10:03 am

    Joel,

    Glad to see you made it home okay. Glad to hear things are going okay and you are slowly but surely getting back to your old self.

     
  6. Lee Bentz

    March 19, 2007 at 12:57 pm

    Dear Joel and Erika:

    Congratulations on making it home in “one piece each” (a saying from my college days).

    Living alone should be the ultimate challenge. Talk about trial by fire! I’m certain there will be many frustrations, which will hopefully be balanced out by victories over time.

    “Alone” probably is the operative word. There was a great safety net at Craig. I know Erika and her Mom will help you alot, but obviously there are some things only you can learn and do. I have no doubt you will meet the challenges, but remember to take care of yourself along the way.

    Good luck with the new car hunting.

    Love, Lee et al

     
  7. Beth Hansen

    March 19, 2007 at 3:20 pm

    Glad to hear things are going well. Have fun car shopping (a task I myself despise!). Let’s talk again soon!

    Beth

     
  8. Janis

    March 19, 2007 at 4:17 pm

    Joel,
    I can’t immagine the mixed feelings you are having. Finally getting out and moving on but still so many challenges to meet. Wow, talking about waking up to something new everyday. New experiences can really tire one out so keep up with the naps. Good luck car shopping. Much love, Janis

     
  9. Sharon Bodle

    March 19, 2007 at 4:18 pm

    Joel,

    I am so glad the trip home went well. I thought of you often throughout Friday and the weekend. Thanks to Erika’s Mom for doing all those Mom things the rest of us Moms would like to do for you! Good luck with the car shopping – I spent several weeks talking to the salesman before I purchased my last vehicle. My best to you and Erika as you make the transition to your new normal at home.

    Sharon

     
  10. peter Scanlon

    March 19, 2007 at 6:40 pm

    Joel,

    Welcome home, buddy. Looking forward to seeing you guys….

    Pete

     
  11. Mom

    March 19, 2007 at 6:55 pm

    I miss you!

     

Leave a Reply

 
