RSS

The Final Push

26 Feb

I realize it has been a number of days since my last post. I was stuck in bed and I couldn’t write. But things seem to have swung my way, and I was able to get up today.

My time here at Craig is quickly coming to and end, and I have realized the community here at Craig is something I am going to miss. We are a group of strangers, that due to unfortunate circumstances, became partners in learning to live again. I think that is what I am going to miss most. I won’t have the comfort of those around me who know what I am going to through. There is a lot of comfort is confiding with someone who has been there before. I will miss the people here. Everyone here is amazing and an inspiration.

Once I got out of bed this morning things went pretty well. The only bad news is that it is not guaranteed my personal wheelchair will be here before I leave next Tuesday. I guess we will have to wait and see.

Life here at Craig feels as if it is coming to a close. But for all those out there, I will certainly continue to write about all of my observations and insights. I hope all of you follow me in to the next step.

By the way, I now have red hair. A doctor here wanted to color my mowhawk and we finally did it. I look fantastic. I will have pictures tomorrow.

I realize this is a short post but I am little rusty since I haven’t written all weekend. I will have a lot to say tomorrow. I also have a lot of pictures I need to upload tomorrow too.

Have a great Tuesday.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on February 26, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

11 responses to “The Final Push

  1. Mel Benedict

    February 26, 2007 at 9:45 pm

    a red mowhawk?????, only you could pull that off

     
  2. Jessie Aufderheide

    February 26, 2007 at 10:22 pm

    Thanks for letting me hang out this weekend. It was good to hang out with my buddy Joel. I’m glad to hear you put that box of hair dye to use. Love ya, Jessie

     
  3. NORM BIEHL

    February 27, 2007 at 6:20 am

    ****GOOOOD**MORNING..MY ..FRIEND** YOUR A TRUE SHORTTIMER..GOTTA FEEL GOOD ! ! ! ! ! THE PEOPLE YOU HAVE MET AT CRAIG WILL ALWAYS HAVE A SPECIAL BOND..FRIENDS ARE THE …BEST ! ! ! ! !

     
  4. Eric

    February 27, 2007 at 6:42 am

    Joel,

    There’s no doubt in anybody’s mind you will succeed with your “next steps”. We look forward to following your lead as your journey continues.

    We love you and think of you every single day,
    Eric, Amy, Brendan, Olivia & #3

     
  5. cuz paul

    February 27, 2007 at 9:16 am

    Punk Rock recovery baby!! Joel, you have come so far already, that’s got to be a powerful feeling. Do you remember your first couple posts? Didn’t Erika or Bryan have to be your fingers. You’ve touched so many people and remindined us what is truly important in life. Not houses or money and competition, but how many people are willing to go to bat for you. I only wish I could have been there to see you in action for a day. Thanks for the inspiration Joel. Love, paul

     
  6. Matt

    February 27, 2007 at 10:01 am

    You have enlightened so many of us to the importance of so many things in life, little or big. So thank you for what you have given us and I know your strong will and good heart will speed up your recovery and help you conquer the next step in life. Looking forward to the posts and the pictures, keep up the hard work and save one of those snazzy water bottles for me, my check is in the mail soon!!
    Matt

     
  7. Leigha

    February 27, 2007 at 10:42 am

    Two comments – Erika, can you please set aside a water bottle for us? It will be great to take to Lucas’ soccer games. (I’ll call you to figure out when to come get it…) And Joel, you should take all your posts and put them into a book. Honestly, you’ve been such an inspiration to so many people and you’re a great writer. I know, I know, you have a *few* other things going on right now 🙂 but I wanted to throw that out there. This blog is good stuff! Take care!
    Love,
    Leigha and Lucas

     
  8. NORM BIEHL

    February 28, 2007 at 7:55 am

    GOOD MORNING MY FRIEND AS ONE OF YOUR FRIENDS SAID YOU HAVE TOUCHED SO MANY PEOPLE IN MANY DIFFFERANT WAYS..WES THIS IS THE FINAL PUSH TO A NEW FRONTIER OF JOELISM AND ON TO ANOTHER AND ANOTHER AND ANOTHER AND ANOTHER….YOU..GOTTA…BELIEVE..AND WE ALL KNOW YOU DO ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !

     
  9. Robin and Dave (flight nurses)

    February 28, 2007 at 9:26 am

    Hello Joel and Erika,

    You must be excited and scared about finding even more independence. Be patient with your loved ones…and with yourself. Sometimes progress comes a little at a time. We will continue to keep you both in our daily prayers and I will certainly keep an eye on your progress…

    Cheers to you and your family,

    Robin and Dave

     
  10. Dyan Orsello

    February 28, 2007 at 1:09 pm

    I can’t wait to see pictures of you with the red hair!!!!
    I know it is hard to leave a place where you feel so secure but what advantage is it for you not to continue your everyday achievements somewhere else with a great woman by your side and all the support that you have. We all believe you will succeed in everything you do.

     
  11. Janis

    February 28, 2007 at 2:08 pm

    Joel,
    I can hardly wait to see the new do. Red hair, kinda like Bryan. I will be arriving Friday afternoon, airport snow removal willing. You may be leaving the physical Craig behind but you can will always carry the spirit and people of Craig. They have a new fangled thing called email. You can take a lesson from Thurston. He collects email addresses like candy and the amazing thing is he keeps in touch with most of them. Your support web is spread far and wide and includes the Craig group. Take care, rest up for your trip, and see you soon. Much love, Janis.

     

Leave a Reply

 
