RSS

Shortcomings

19 Feb

It is difficult to face shortcomings in your own life. No one of us is perfect. We all have things we can improve on. We all have things that we should be working on to correct. We all have traits in our personalities that preclude other traits that might be a more beneficial in certain situations. Sometimes you have to swallow your pride and look yourself in the mirror and realize there maybe something that you should correct. I had this situation in the last week and let me tell you it sucks.

I guess what I am saying is that I was told that I need to learn to slow down and become far more deliberate in my actions. I know I wasn’t, but I had the feeling that I was a corned dog. Due to my new situation I really do need to learn to be more deliberate. I need to take the time to plan things out, instead of going by the seat of my pants. Let me tell you it is going to be a challenge to change a pretty entrenched part of my personality. Like so much else lately I am just going to need to change.

Last night I had the opportunity to go to the Lacrosse game. I had never been to one before and I had great time. I will admit I had another beer during the game. I tasted quite good. I had a ball last night. Good ole’ Average Joe was helped a brother out and got me and Erika to the game. We have a lacrosse team in Phoenix and I am sure I will got to a game or two.

Today in wheelchair class we went out and headed into the neighborhood for some endurance training. And of course, I got a flat tire. At the time of the flat we were pretty much at the bottom of the hill. Getting back up the hill was difficult to say the least. I actually needed some help. My shoulder that the flat was on began to hurt. But all was OK once I got back to the prison.

Time is quickly coming to a close here at Craig. I really can feel the pressure of leaving. Today I had another chance to get behind the wheel. The way it work is that there is a handle to the right of the steering wheel that if you push in the brake is applied and pulling down is applying the gas. I seem to have a pretty good handle of how the controls work and I will be back on the road before you know it.

I also wanted to say the Dodge Magnum may now be off the list for cars when I get home. I am looking at a van that sits a little lower. With my length most cars are difficult to get into. If any one out in Internet land knows of a good mini van let me know.

Have a great Tuesday.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on February 19, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

8 responses to “Shortcomings

  1. NORM BIEHL

    February 20, 2007 at 6:43 am

    GOOD MORNING MY FRIEND….DEAD LINES SHORT COMINGS THE FEAR OF FLYING THEIR ARE RIGHT INFRONT OF US ALL … ARE WE GETTING OLDER OR GETTING BETTER ??? THIS WEEK I AM FACEING A NEW CHALLANGE MY SELF FOR THE FIRST TIME IN 10 PLUS YEARS I AM INVOLVED IN LOOKING FOR A JOB…WE ARE EXCITED ABOUT THE NEW OPORTUNITIES THAT LIE AHEAD….STEP OUT OF THE BOX….. TRY ON SOME THING NEW WILL LET YOU KNOW HOW ITS GOING N & S

     
  2. Matt

    February 20, 2007 at 11:05 am

    Its awesome to see your determination shinning through!! On the minivan note, the Nissan Quest is really cool, it has all the neat stuff like navigation etc.. and it has the 6cylinder motor from the 350Z so its pretty fast too, I dig em’. I hope this Tuesday brings you more success!!
    Matt

     
  3. Dominic Lovely

    February 20, 2007 at 11:06 am

    Sorry to hear the magnum might be out of the running. Sounds like you really liked that car. Have you ever looked at the Honda Element. I know the’re a little boxy, but I think it’s pretty nice. I’m not an expert on the car or anything and am not sure of it’s floor hieght, but I know they have the reverse opening rear door that makes for plenty of loading room. Just my 2 cents.

    Have fun shopping! I’m glad you enjoyed the lacrosse game.
    Dom

     
  4. Dan Zatkovich

    February 20, 2007 at 2:58 pm

    So do you have to carry around spare tires with you, like if you were mountain biking? That never occured to me.

     
  5. Beth Hansen

    February 20, 2007 at 4:12 pm

    I will check some of our resources at work. You may have to look into a specialty mini-van that has the floor lowered. But there are some good ones out there.

     
  6. Matt Unger

    February 21, 2007 at 6:22 am

    some good suggestions made about a new vehicle already. The Nissan Quest is a decent van. We have a Dodge Grand CAravan, and i’ve seen quiet a few of them modified for handicap use, so i’m assuming they are easily modified to work for how you need it.

    Have you also thought about a full size truck? I know a few members on boards that are in wheelchairs and have full size trucks. You can get one of those automatic crane type deals mounted in the bed, that will allow you to get into the vehicle and then hit the button and it will lift and swing your chair into the bed of the truck. Might also be somethign to consider, since eithe ra van or ull size truck offer plenty of leg room and either can be modified to work for you.

    Can’t wait until you get back from Craig and can find a chance to come visit us here in the office. We all try and follow your blog as often as we can

     
  7. NORM BIEHL

    February 21, 2007 at 6:46 am

    ****GOOD**MORNING*MY FRIEND*** ANOTHER DAY AND THE BIG WHEEL KEEPS ON TURNING ….HOLD ON AND DON’T GET A FLAT TIRE OR YOU’L GET THROWN OFF….. YOU HAVE A INTERISTING RIDE AHEAD BY YOUR POSITIVE FRAME OF MIND THAT IS GETTING BRIGHTER EVERYDAY YOU’LL DO GREAT ! ! ! !.. N & S..

     
  8. Ross & Amber

    February 21, 2007 at 1:38 pm

    HI there!
    I love the idea of the Nalgene bottle. Im sure I will need one in every color! I am so looking forward to seeing you when you are back in PHX!! I sorry about the Magnum being out of the running but I just might know a guy that could help you look for a minivan! Ross wants one too!

    You are doing so well!! I know it can be frustrating but just look at all that you have accomplished! You are so amazing!

    I hear what your cluckin’ big chicken!
    Amber

     

Leave a Reply

 
