RSS

Helping Others

18 Feb

There are a lot of amazing people who are dealing with their injury here at Craig. A couple of them have been stuck in bed due to some medical complications. I have noticed over the last few days that I have been trying to spend some time with them in hopes of cheering up the patients here who have been struggling medically.

The point of what I am saying is that I seem to be helping those here, but the reality is that I am helping myself. By trying to encourage others, I am encouraging myself at the same time. I wish I could fully explain the benefits of helping others, but I can’t.

I do know when I get home I will be getting involved with volunteering. I recommend everyone out in the Internet world do the same thing. Trust me: nothing will make you feel better about the world, your life, and the lives of people around you.

As far as physical therapy goes, I am really starting to make some big strides. I am now able to transfer my but tabout 15 inches up in the air. That means I am close to getting myself back into my chair in the event I fall out of my chair. My balance is getting pretty good too. I have been getting into some pretty high-level balance work.

Yesterday, mom and I went car shopping. We headed out in search of a Dodge Magnum. We were fortunate to find one, and of course I struggled to get in it. I have come to understand with my length that any vehicle I may end up with be difficult to get into. Good times. The second part of car shopping yesterday was that I went with a chair that I won’t be going home with. The chair I had yesterday had quite a bit more frame to it, so it was more difficult to get into the vehicle than the chair I will bring home.

I want to give everyone a head up on something really cool. My cousin, who works at Nalgene, and my brother had a really good idea to print a design on a Naglene bottle that reflects this blog and my eventual recovery. I have seen the bottles and they really do look super cool. As far as I understand, they have been printed and are ready for fans of this blog. The intent is to sell the bottle so when I get home I get back on my feet a little sooner. From me, your support is really appreciated. I will be working with the crew to get something up on this site as soon as possible so for those looking to get one we can get you one with limited delay.

The Laughery’s also came down to Craig for lunch yesterday. We made a dash for Red Robin. I had a guacamole and bacon burger. Let me just tell ya: it was mighty tasty. And of course, MB had to enlist the help of the serving staff to sing Erin and I happy birthday. For some reason those around us seem to have the odd pleasure of our embarassment.

As it turns out Erika is coming back to Craig today. Originally she was going to come back on Tuesday. It will be nice to have her here. I have really missed her.

Well I better go. Have a great lazy Sunday.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on February 18, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

10 responses to “Helping Others

  1. Sharon Bodle

    February 18, 2007 at 6:42 pm

    Joel,

    It sounds as though you are making great progress with your physical therapy. Not only do you maintain a good attitude, you are strong. . .and getting stronger. Fabulous!

    How exciting to go car shopping. With the snow and ice we have had here in Ohio the past three weeks the various options of rear/front/all/4-wheel drive have been “water cooler” topics. The Magnum looks to be pretty advantageous with the all-wheel drive feature.

    Glad to hear Erika is there with you again. Hello to Erika and your Mom.

    Eric, can’t wait for the scoop on the bottles. You know my office mates will be up for details too. Can hardly wait to see one.

    Sharon

     
  2. Beth Hansen

    February 19, 2007 at 5:31 am

    Can’t wait for the bottle. Is your big smile the featured graphic?

    I personally dread car shopping, however, getting something fancy and new is always kinda fun! Good luck with that process.

    What kind of wheelchair will you go home with? I’m curious to know the nitty gritty details. Can’t help myself!

    Love
    Beth

     
  3. Bernadette and Gil

    February 19, 2007 at 7:45 am

    Good morning Joel,
    Great insight into helping others.
    I think that you have been helping others with your blogs since you began writing them! Your road to recovery has been an inspiration to all that have been reading. And those at Craig who have you there to encourage and inspire are fortunate, too.
    Wow. You are AMAZING!
    Enjoy the day.

     
  4. NORM BIEHL

    February 19, 2007 at 7:48 am

    GOOOD… MORNING… JOEL & ERIKA…THE SUNSHINE RETURNS TO COLORADO ALONG WITH YOUR BEST FRIEND……ENJOY THE DAY AND EACH OTHER………….. N & S………………

     
  5. Janis

    February 19, 2007 at 9:34 am

    Joel,
    More and more progress everyday. With all your strength training you must be getting big guns. I still remember you flexing and kissing them when you were a preteen. I think I see a thread in your blog about freedom. A new car, a new bike, and swimming. All the freedom. Even your volunteering is freedom from thinking about yourself. I can hardly wait to vist, got my tickets for first of March. See you soon. Janis

     
  6. Dominic Lovely

    February 19, 2007 at 9:54 am

    Joel,
    I am blown away by your amazing attitude and how much progress you have made. I’m one of the folks who reads the blog almost daily but usually doesn’t post a comment. After reading your last few entries I just have to come out and say how impressed I am.
    I’m ready for a new Nalgene bottle whenever there ready, so let us know how to get them.

    Take care
    Dom

     
  7. Holly Bob, Andy, Liz

    February 19, 2007 at 11:51 am

    Dear Joel,
    Missed you,looking forward to coming down and seeing you soon.Sounds like you have been hanging in there. So proud of you and all you have accomplished. Looks like you had a pretty good 30th Birthday. Happy Be-Lated! Got a little present for you while we were in New Zealand. What color is the new car going to be? Hang in there Big Guy! Give Erika our Best.
    Lots of Love

     
  8. Holly Bob, Andy, Liz

    February 19, 2007 at 11:52 am

    I must be getting old, I seem to be repeating myself. I guess I am still a little jet laggy. Bye

     
  9. Matt

    February 19, 2007 at 11:54 am

    Its great to hear your positivity Joel!!! As I am having one of the worst Monday’s on record, reading your blog really helps me to understand the big picture. You communicate the need to look beyond your personal plight and see the greater good, thats one heck of a gift to have man and you got it. I am excited to hear how the car shopping goes, I dig the magnums but have never taken one out for a spin!!! Ohh and I do believe I have 3 or 4 nalgenes that could be replaced, let me know what the deal is as soon as you find out. Take care and keep up the good work.
    Matt

     
  10. Leigha

    February 20, 2007 at 11:26 am

    Hi Joel,

    Lucas sends his love! Can’t wait to see the bottles, what a great idea. Hope you got the artwork I sent you – Lucas is *quite* the artist (as he tells me all the time) so you have some priceless works there. 🙂

    Take care,
    Leigha

     

Leave a Reply

 
