RSS

Adaptation

17 Feb

I have come to realize that I have to adapt to this new situation, but those around me have to adapt too. I am new person and I what I can and cannot do are very different. Those around me will have to make certain adjustments to what I can do and cannot do. Some adjustments, if not most, adjustments will be very simple. Some adjustments may be a little more difficult.

Some adjustments will be more of an interaction adjustment, as my perceptions have changed. Other adjustments will be more about what I can do or not do. I need to realize that I need to help those around me dealing with changes and adjustments or changes with anything. If they don’t have help from me on the new changes, they try to avoid the situation or go too far. I don’t explicitly know how to help those around me with any new adjustments, but I will certainly try help as much as possible. I also need to remember that there may some circumstances that someone won’t be able to adjust to and that I will have to find alternatives for me.

Today Erin L. is coming for a visit today. I’ll give her the standard tour of Craig. The best part of the visit is that we are getting out and going to get a decent lunch.

I am hoping after lunch mom, Erin, and I will go car shopping. There is a couple auto dealers within a short distance from Craig. I am still looking at the Dodge Magnum, but I am not totally convinced. I should know more tonight.

I found out that I should have a mountain bike in Arizona within a couple of days of being home. This is great news because I can immediately start getting out and living life again. Since I won’t be working for a couple of months I will be looking for something to do, and mountain biking is a great activity.

I am also going to learn how to swim laps again. I am not sure how that works but as I understand it can be done. Erika and I used to swim together and getting back to that would feel really good.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 17, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

3 responses to “Adaptation

  1. John and Juli Begley

    February 17, 2007 at 5:33 pm

    Wow… You are the neatest person I know. I am so glad we are “shirt-tail” relatives…

    Hugs and prayers to you. Say a big hello to your mom.

    Juli and John.

     
  2. Brandon and Erin Tancredi

    February 17, 2007 at 9:03 pm

    Hey Joel! You really are displaying so much courage and determination…that will help you continue to go so far!! We think of you everyday and look forward to checking in on the blog with your amazing progress. Hope to see you soon and that’s so cool to hear about scuba diving and getting your mountain bike.

     
  3. Eric

    February 18, 2007 at 1:08 pm

    Hi Joel,

    The bottles turned out great — I’m sending them tomorrow. Have fun with Erika this week.

    Love ya,
    Eric, Amy, Brendan & Olivia

     

Leave a Reply

 
