RSS

Help

15 Feb

Assistance is a concept that I seldom though of. Over the 30 years of my life, I learned to pretty much do everything on my own. One time, I moved all my possessions from California to Arizona all on my own and with no help. I was able to move entire couches out of the house with no help. I could build a 2 X 12 bookshelf with no problem. I could reach things that were too high for everyone else.

Obviously everything has changed and I no longer able to do things that I could do before. I sometimes find it difficult to get the help I need. It has been a difficult transition for me. I probably have been unfair to a few people close to me because of my inability to adjust. I wish it weren’t like that, but I am trying overcoming this challenge. The reality in my life is that I won’t have to ask for help for a lot of little things in my life. I just hope I can get to a point that it doesn’t bother my like it does today. To those I have not said thanks for your help: Thank you, it is appreciated.

Today I had the opportunity to go scuba diving in a pool near Craig, and it was a blast. In the pool, I was free from my chair, which was an absolute great feeling. I have always enjoyed the water. Perhaps scuba diving will be something I will pick up once I go home. So much has changed and scuba diving maybe can be something that will be easier now. I will have some pictures from scuba tomorrow.

Today is Valentine’s Day. I was unable to spend it again with Erika. We spent another Valentine’s Day away from each other. I wish it weren’t like this, but I could wish all I want but that won’t make it so. So, this is for Erika. I love you babe. Will you be my Valentine?

I have to admit that I am taking my rehab a little more seriously now that the end is in sight. I really want to get as much training before I leave here. Learning how to live again requires so many more skills. Nothing is easy anymore. Everything I do takes planning, and planning is not my best attribute. I guess that’s one more skill to learn.

Well I better go, “Lost” is about ready to come on and I can’t miss that. Before I go I want to say thanks a friend from Wyoming sent me a great coffee mug and some cookies. The cookies were great and the mug will certainly get used.

By the way, I am really getting tired of this snow here in Colorado. I am really ready to get back to Arizona and the nice weather.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on February 15, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

7 responses to “Help

  1. NORM BIEHL

    February 15, 2007 at 9:35 am

    GOOD MORNING MY FRIEND YES THEIR A NEED FOR GOOD DIVING INSTRUCTORS EXPECIALLY IN ARIZONA AND COLORADO GO FOR IT HAVE A DAY ! ! ! ! !

     
  2. Brian Dietzen

    February 15, 2007 at 11:05 am

    It must feel strange to ask for help when you haven’t needed it before, but I’m sure that those close to you know that you appreciate all that they do for you. Scuba sounds great! Also, when will you be at Craig until? I’m visiting my parents over the first weekend of March, and i’d love to say hello if you’re still there.
    Good luck with the snow!
    -Brian

     
  3. Matt

    February 15, 2007 at 11:08 am

    Always wanted to try Scuba, if you become and expert a few lessons would be great!! give me and excuse to pry myself from work!!! Good luck in your final push, you seem determined and for me anyway, the mental part is the biggest battle. Keep up the good work.

    Matt and Amy

     
  4. Bryan Yates

    February 15, 2007 at 11:11 am

    My fix has been satisfied! Thanks for keeping up with the great blogs.

     
  5. Bernadette and Gil

    February 15, 2007 at 7:33 pm

    Hey Joel,
    I bet the scuba was a blast as you said. Feeling free in the water. That sounds great.
    I hear you about the cold and snow here. A doze of the Arizona sunshine and heat would be good for me right about now!
    Hang in there and keep pushing harder till the end. You’ll be basking in the sunshine in the Valley of the Sun before you know it!.

     
  6. T

    February 16, 2007 at 1:18 am

    joel, your not the only one who finds it hard asking for help. most people find it hard, in preticular if they are used to doing things for themselvs most of the time.
    T

     
  7. Beth Hansen

    February 16, 2007 at 4:53 am

    Joel-

    I think you’ll find that most people will offer you help before you even ask for it. At least in the obvious situations. You’ll get more offers than you knew were out there. BUT thank goodness for generous people. (Although, I don’t know the type in Arizona. If Erika is any reflection you’ll be in good shape.)

    Sounds like things are going well. I’m so glad you were at Craig to get all your training. Their program seems incredible. I’d love some more videos of therapy!

    Take care
    Beth

     

Leave a Reply

 
