RSS

Growth

14 Feb

I have come to realize that in 10 short weeks that I grew from an infant to an adult again. I have to re-learn everything. When I first got here, I could not do anything on my own. I was reliant on someone to do everything for me. The one thing I could do is eat and that’s about it. It was tough back in those days. As of today, I’ve grown and I would say I am a pre-teen now. I still have so much growing and learning to do yet. I can’t even imagine the learning I will have to do when I get home. I do know one day that I will be a fully-functional adult again. I guess that is one of the difficult things of this and many other injuries — you have learn everything again.

Today was a decent day. I started working on buying a mountain bike for when I get home. There has been some discussion for me to get a mountain bike. I am going to get a mountain bike because with my new condition getting out of the noise of society is going to be difficult to do and the mountain bike will allow me to get in to the quiet silence of the wilderness. I really believe I will enjoy it and use it quite a bit.

Today I have had quite a bit of nerve pain. I really don’t know how to explain what it is, but it is pain I feel in my legs. At first I didn’t have any, but it seems to be getting worse. I was trying to get off all my drugs but with this nerve pain it doesn’t look like I will totally off drugs anytime soon. Some days I just wish the pain in my legs would just go away. Even tonight, I tried using acupuncture to rid the pain. It worked for a whole 45 minutes. Maybe I should try something I don’t even know about. Something has to work.

So tonight, I am in bed, sitting, writing and watching Navy NCIS. I haven’t watched a lot of the show, but I realize a person who is in the show is a fan of this website. I was watching and I saw him in a whole bunch of scenes. I actually grew up the Brian D and it was a trip to watch him in the show. I know Brian reads this blog and he has left multiple comments. I appreciate your support and thoughts. Brian, I am definitely enjoyed the show and I will be watching it from now on. I will admit it was a bit creepy to watch where all the cadavers are kept. Anyway, say hello to all the cast for me.

I was looking at a calendar today, and I realized I now have three weeks and counting. I spoke to Erika and she is excited to have me home and I am ready to be home with her. Like I said before, I am still a bit nervous about going home. But I am excited to be back home and start living again.

I realize I have taken a few days off from posting. I had a couple of hiccups that kept me down in the evening. I apologize for missing a couple of days.

Anyway have a good Wednesday. You better work hard and take nothing for granted – trust me.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on February 14, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

9 responses to “Growth

  1. MB

    February 14, 2007 at 9:27 am

    Joel,
    We all continue to learn and re-learn every year. You just hapen to have to re-learn things you never thought you would. You are doing an amazing job, and you are an example to so many of us! Keep up your positive attitude…
    Enjoy your Valentine’s Day, even though you’d like to be in Tempe with Erika! You can “wow” the staff at Craig with your smile, and maybe they’ll get you an extra cookie!
    Cheers 🙂

     
  2. Brian Dietzen

    February 14, 2007 at 9:59 am

    Happy Valentine’s Day Joel! Thanks for this blog, and for letting all of us hear what you’re experiencing on this journey. Growth is wonderful, but don’t forget that the growing pains are normal in any type of change. You’re inspiring as always man.
    -B

     
  3. Matt

    February 14, 2007 at 11:13 am

    You have taught me through this blog that even the small things you cant take for granted and I truly appreciate that. I have heard the saying ‘dont take it for granted’ time and time again, usually from my parents while eating a terrible dinner, but you have helped me and I am sure many others to realize ithrough your blogs that it truly is important to appreicate even the small things. Just wanted to say thanks today and keep up the good work buddy.
    Matt

     
  4. John Vcelka

    February 14, 2007 at 11:13 am

    Joel, I finally broke down and visited your famous blog. Nice work buddy. You are doing great.

    Here is a picture of you at the Pepsi Center. Just thought you should have a picture of your first solo outing.

    Keep it up. I will see you later.
    John

     
  5. Renee

    February 14, 2007 at 2:41 pm

    Clay and I are excited to hear you will be coming home soon. We had hoped to visit you in Colorado but it looks like you beat us to the punch and will be coming back to AZ sooner than we thought.
    Let us know if there is anything we can do to help you with the transition… like maybe a trip to Four Peaks or something! 🙂

     
  6. Lacy

    February 14, 2007 at 2:45 pm

    Lacy,

    Just wanted to wish you a Happy Valentines Day. I could not find little candy hearts that said “your strength and progress amaze me every day,” but if I had, I would have sent them to you. You are truly an inspiring person Joel.

    Take Care,

    Lacy

     
  7. Dyan

    February 14, 2007 at 3:36 pm

    Joel,

    ” HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY” I’m happy to hear you will be going home soon. That was great of the Crushers to invite you
    to tailgate and see the game I’m sure you will have a great time.
    I have learned alot from reading your blog, very inspiring!!!!!

    Love you,
    Dyan

     
  8. Susan and Sandy

    February 14, 2007 at 9:01 pm

    Joel….
    Just talked with your Mom and she said you had a good day. On this Valentine’s day I just wnat you to know how much you are a part of all of our hearts. Sandy and I leave early tomorrow to visit Dave and Carma in Africa. So just remember that there are a group in Ghana that are thinking about YOU. Keep up your hard work and remember no matter where our hearts are we are with you.
    Susan and Sandy from the snowy “hill”

     
  9. Janis

    February 15, 2007 at 8:13 am

    Joel,
    Just talked to your Mom this morning to confirm when I am coming. It will be the first weekend in March. I am so glad I will be able to see you and Erika before you head home. Going home early shows how much progress you have made. You have a lot to be proud of. See you soon. Much love, Janis

     

Leave a Reply

 
