RSS

Security

10 Feb

Today should be a good day. I am leaving Craig and heading out to Niwot to look at Mom’s new house. We should be gone for most of the day. It has been nice to be getting out lately and not having to spend all my time here at Craig, but I will admit there is something safe about this place. For me there is a safety in Craig. So much has changed in the last two months and here at Craig, I live in a bubble that helps me deal with the loss of my body. Here at Craig I have the safety of a nurse-call button when I need something. I have the security of many people helping me get through all the things in life that were once easy, but now are difficult. I will also have to admit that I have similar feeling about leaving here. When I go home to Tempe, I won’t have the security of the hospital. I will have to figure things out on my own. I won’t have the nurse-call button. As good to as it is to be going home, the loss of security with Craig is a bit nerve wracking.

Last night I went to dinner at a place called Hops. I had a very nice steak dinner. I can’t remember the last time I had a nice steak dinner. I am sure, though, that I was at Erika’s mom’s house and the meal was cooked by Dave. I will also admit that I had a beer with dinner. It was pretty good. A nice oatmeal stout. I figured I would have a beer last night, so I stayed away from the pain meds.

So I am off for the day. It looks like a nice day. I may try and go to Chili’s for a fajita lunch. Have a good day everyone.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 10, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

2 responses to “Security

  1. Stan Nicholas

    February 10, 2007 at 12:42 pm

    Joel:
    It was great to spend some time with you yesterday. I thought that you looked much better than I would have anticipated. I am also awed at your outlook. It is a proven fact that the perception of ones outcome of a big event is exactly how that event resolves. So, your positive attitude will be a great asset to you as you move this phase of your life. One of the benefits of dealing with a crisis is that one learns about grace; how to grapple with it, how to accept it from other people, and the blessing of knowing just how much of it is out there. I am looking forward to lunch before you head south.
    Stan

     
  2. John and Juli Begley

    February 10, 2007 at 2:17 pm

    Hi Joel,
    I have to say that in light of your current situation, I doubt that there is any obstacle you will NOT be able to over come. The security of the Nurse Call Light is not a major factor in your abilities. The grit and problem solving abilities that you have given this situation since day one, shows all of us that you will succeed in anything you choose to do. You are fantastic young man and I again I will say that I am so proud that Jess married into your family.
    God Bless you…

     

Leave a Reply

 
