RSS

Just Another Day in Paradise

08 Feb

This morning I had the opportunity to play a mean game of hockey as part of a class. I usually don’t enjoy the hockey but today was different. About midway through, I noticed my smile. It was a true smile. It was a smile that didn’t have all the weight of recent events on my shoulders. I wish I could describe it better, but I can’t. All I know it felt great. It is not very often I notice when I smile. Any smile you can muster in this place should be enjoyed. There are so many struggles for everyone here that a smile is certainly earned. I don’t think I will ever take for granted a smile of happiness after all this. Too bad I had to have all this happen to realize the simple pleasure of a smile.

This weekend, I am excited to have my cousin and his wife come in from New York to visit. They are going to spend sometime here at Craig and see what I do everyday. We may even get out of here and eat dinner out. We are also going to break out of here and go my mom’s new house. I have not seen the house myself since the foundation was the only work that had been done, so I am excited to see all the work that has been done.

Here I go again with another “Top Ten”:

1) I should be getting a double bed by the end of next week. Hooray.
2) I am going to start driving classes next week. I can’t imagine how it is like to drive in my condition, but is should be interesting.
3) I am still eating food from this weekend’s big bash.
4) I am going to be getting in a pool next week. I heard it is a great experience. I can’t wait.
5) There were quite a few people that were ahead of me that I got to know and many of them have now left and gone home. I hope they all do well with everything they do.
6) I had acupuncture the other night and my shadow was under my bed during the whole thing. I could here him but I didn’t know it was him. I was laying there and I kept hearing things under my bed. At the time it was a some what funny story.
7) When Average Joe comes back from Utah we are talking about going to a Lacrosse game. I here it is a fun sport to watch.
8) I was talking to people about a vehicle when I get home it looks like I may get a Dodge Magnum
9) I am still counting the days till Erika comes back.
10) I am still keeping hope for a better future alive.

Have a great Friday and Weekend. For those having a drink tip one for me.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on February 8, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

11 responses to “Just Another Day in Paradise

  1. Janice

    February 8, 2007 at 10:59 pm

    Driving will be interesting. Not only do you have to learn how to drive without the use of your legs, but maybe on snow and ice. I get nervous just thinking about winter roads in Denver, or anywhere else. I’m sure you will give us the low down on your experience, and I’m absolutely sure you will do better than I would.

    Double bed sounds pretty good and so does the heated pool.

    I noticed that you did not mention that you were counting the days till you see me again but I’m OK with that. (just messing with you Joel)

    You have a good Friday and weekend too!

    Janice

     
  2. Amy Hansen

    February 9, 2007 at 12:19 am

    Joel,
    It was great to visit with you tonight and to see how well you’re doing. I’m looking forward to seeing more of Craig this weekend too! Have a good night.
    Amy

     
  3. NORM BIEHL

    February 9, 2007 at 7:06 am

    GOOD…MORNING…MY..FRIEND…..SMILE AND THE WHOLE WORLD SMILES WITH YOU ! ! ! ! ! AND I HOPE YOU WORE YOUR RED WINGS CAP PROUDLY DURING YOUR HOCKEY EXPERIENCE…..HAVE A GREAT FRIDAY….. N & S……

     
  4. Bernadette and Gil

    February 9, 2007 at 7:42 am

    Good morning Joel,
    So you’ll be heading to Niwot this weekend? Remember that we live down the hill from the new house, so stop on over if you have the time! We’d love it.
    I drove up to see the progress on the house a couple of days ago and it’s looking good. There was lots of mud due to the warm-up. I’m anxious to see it up close.
    Keep smiling!!! You’re doing amazing things.
    I got a chuckel out of Ray being under the bed!! He’s so adorable.
    Have a good day.

     
  5. eecarson

    February 9, 2007 at 7:59 am

    Hi Joel!
    Good to hear that you’re having some fun in there! From the way my brother tells it, some of those games you guys play can be prett brutal! I think I’d get beat to a pulp! 🙂
    Sounds like you have some great days ahead of you… that makes me happy! Keep that smile going and I can’t wait to see you in a week!

     
  6. Matt

    February 9, 2007 at 11:36 am

    Joel,
    Always an inspiration and cant convey how much it brightens my day. There were some awesome things in the top ten, Mammoth are great to watch, its pretty intense live. The dodge magnum is a pretty sweet ride!! Never thought a smile was something to cherish that much, but you have quickly changed that by simply typing a few words. Like so many of your previous posts, I have gained a better appreciation for many aspects of my life, things I should have appreciate more fully before. Thank You for all your insightful thoughts feelings and everything else. Keep up the good work, good things are happening!!
    Matt

     
  7. John and Juli Begley

    February 9, 2007 at 12:19 pm

    Good day Joel,
    “I am still keeping hope for a better future alive”
    Sounds like you have much, much more than most people do or will ever have. Don’t let the fact that you can’t “walk” spoil the multitude of gifts that you do have. Keep up the SMILE! You have it all in the palm of your hand!! What a bright and inspirational young man you are.
    Enjoy the Dodge…I love em.

     
  8. Janis

    February 9, 2007 at 1:19 pm

    Joel,
    With all the new and unfamiliar things you will be doing next week here is my new favorite quote you might find useful. “There is wisdom in turning as often as possible from the familiar to the unfamiliar: it keeps the mind nimble, it kills prejudice, and it fosters humor.” I especially find the “humor” part true. Have fun with Eric and Amy this weekend. Much love, Janis

     
  9. Erika

    February 9, 2007 at 7:29 pm

    Sweetheart,

    The posts just keep getting better! You have a lot to look forward to next week – pool, visitors, outings, driving. I have finals…. Can’t say I’m looking forward to those too much. But don’t worry; I’ll be prepared. I’m calculating the weighted cost of capital for leveraged firms right now. I decided to treat myself to a clothes shopping spree on Friday when they’re all over.

    News from home: Arizona is beautiful, highs in the 80s. It’s sunny now when I ride my bike to class in the morning. I got a haircut – it’s short again. There are two cats are in heat in the neighborhood, it’s funny to listen to them howling all night.

    Tell Mom, cuz and Amy I said “hey”

    Love ya,
    E

     
  10. T

    February 10, 2007 at 12:25 am

    sounds like you have alot of activitys going on next week. when do they take you skiing? at my ski lesson last night i saw some paripoligic skiers out on the hill. where do they take you for driving? T

     
  11. Mel Benedict

    February 10, 2007 at 7:09 am

    Yoel, the dodge magnum is a nice car, we just got a new truck with the Hemi, and it moves right along. Keep posting and best wishes. mel

     

Leave a Reply

 
