RSS

Interaction

07 Feb

Well, my thirtieth came and went. I was given a great birthday party here at Craig. The room we used here at Craig was full, wall to wall with people. Having all those people come down to Denver for me was nice. I really appreciate Susan Biehl, Susan MacDonald, Marybeth Laughery and Mary Hiegel for their efforts. You guys really made the day nice.

After I went to bed that night, I realized how the interaction with ones close to me made me feel so better. Before of the party I was feeling so so, and after I was feel pretty good. I had realized that humans are very social creatures. All, or at least most, of us enjoy the interactions of other people. We gain a sense of community and safety in groups. We empathize and help each other in groups. There is something very therapeutic about the company of a good friend or group of friends. Here at Craig, a group of strangers with no reason of knowing each other but an unfortunate event, brought us together and our interactions. Our compassion. Our empathy. Our hope makes us strong together as we learn to live again. I guess that is what makes Craig so good. A group of strangers learning rebuild their lives together, one step at a time.

Today was a good day. It was certainly better than yesterday. I had a series of mishaps yesterday that got me into bed pretty early. That why I didn’t write yesterday. I guess that the good thing to remember is that the sun will always come up again. We all have a chance to make the previous day better.

Mom came down for the afternoon. She brought some Subway for lunch and we sat outside and enjoyed the nice day. It’s been so long since I’ve just sat and enjoyed the day. I am usually so cooped up here in Craig I don’t get out all that often.

I would say the countdown has begun. I am supposed to leave on March 8th from here. Today is the 7th. So, I have less than one month before I go home. I am getting a little nervous. I am not sure I will be ready to survive outside Craig. It’s safe here. But, I want to go home and try to begin life again. I have a feeling I will have start over and learn to live again, just outside of Craig.

We I better go. I want to get ready for bed and “Lost.” Have a good Thursday. Attached are some pictures from the weekend.

me.jpg

augie.jpg

howard1.jpg

 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 7, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

5 responses to “Interaction

  1. Bry, Jess and Jamysen

    February 7, 2007 at 10:12 pm

    Hey Joel,
    I had such a great time visiting you and watching you in OT. During your OT I was amazed at what you have learned, which all of it will help you outside of the “Craig bubble”. You will survive when you get home, I know this because you have too. Imagine yourself opening the french doors to the back patio and then you roll on out to enjoy the sun, with a Pete’s coffee in hand and Erika in the other hand. I love yours and Erika’s home in Tempe and I want to be there for the homecoming party. So hurry up and get out of there I want my next visit to be warm.
    Love, Jess

     
  2. Uncle G and Aunt E

    February 8, 2007 at 6:01 am

    Wow!…Just one month to go. And only a 28 day month at that. Now you are appreciating the old military term “short timer.” We are watching the grandkids this weekend so Eric and Amy can come out and see you. Eric wants to know if there’s any leftover cake.
    You may have a visit from Elna before you get out of there, too. Meanwhile keep up the good work.
    Love and hugs, George and Elna…

     
  3. Jenny Hansen

    February 8, 2007 at 7:17 pm

    OOH you watch LOST too??? my roommate and i fell into it and watched 12 episodes on DVD in one day.

    and it left us with more questions than answers.

    happy birthday
    j

     
  4. John and Juli Begley

    February 8, 2007 at 7:40 pm

    Happy Belated Birthday to you Joel !
    John and I just returned from a cruise to Cozumel and Costa Maya. You were in our thoughts on “your day” as Jess had told us her plans to visit you. I felt a degree of being lost without a real way to look up your blog on the ship…it does have internet but is pretty spendy..($$$). So I spent the afternoon reading over your entries. Sounds as if you are doing well. Jess keeps us informed of ALL the things going on and please know you are always in our thoughts and prayers.
    Take care and enjoy your 30th year.
    Juli and John

     
  5. meg baden

    February 9, 2007 at 5:49 am

    Joel,

    I am a friend of Beth and Paul’s. beth has been sharing your story and i have been enjoying your blog. Keep your head up, you are so brave to share all of this with us. thank you.

    meg

     

Leave a Reply

 
