RSS

Just want to say THANKS

05 Feb

Hey everybody in blog land. It’s Bryan. Joel’s older, better-looking brother. I just wanted to say thanks to everybody who came to the party yesterday. We had a great time and Joel looked great. I also want to say a special thanks to Mary Beth Laughery, Susan Biehl, Susan MacDonald, Lee Bentz and Mary Hiegel. They helped provide the food, the drinks, the appetizers, the balloons and cake, and more food. Of course helping to clean up afterward. The party could not have happened nearly as well without your awesome help. See y’all soon.
— Bryan

 
9 Comments

Posted by on February 5, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

9 responses to “Just want to say THANKS

  1. Sharon Bodle

    February 5, 2007 at 4:23 pm

    Hi Joes,

    I’ve been off line for about a week. I was attending a computer training course down in Scottsdale. One day at the course, the gal I was carpooling with was staying late, so I jumped on and checked on your. Folks wanted to know what I was looking at so I showed them part of your blog. They thought it was pretty cool and that you were making marvelous progress in your recovery. Then it was back to Dayton and the ice box. The temperature this morning was -4 and the wind chill was somewhere between -15 and -25.

    Sharon

     
  2. MB

    February 5, 2007 at 7:32 pm

    It was such a pleasure to see everyone and enjoy Joel’s birthday! Bryan, you didn’t mention Rory in the thanks, so I know you thanked her in person for she arranged everything with the true “Rory” flair for which she is famous for! And all of us appreciate the support that you, Jess, Jamysen, Phil, and Erika and her folks are offering each and every day! 🙂

     
  3. Sharon Spicer

    February 5, 2007 at 7:50 pm

    Happy Belated Birthday Joel!! I meant to email you yesterday but with the Bear’s losing and all… you know…. if that would have been the Donkeys…
    Great to hear that your doing better! You’ll get your independence back sooner than later. You look like a skater dude w/ your new haircut- way to change the look! Was that haircut done to make you look younger? It was 80 degrees in Phoenix today! Can’t wait to hang with you guys when you get back!

    Sharon

     
  4. Lee Bentz

    February 5, 2007 at 10:42 pm

    Bryan – thanks for the kudos, but I was not allowed to bring food (is that a comment on my cooking?) Clean up is usually my specialty.

    And speaking about special, that little girl of yours has stolen my heart. She made me feel wonderful when I got to hold her.

    Wonderful to see you 3!

    Erika – I enjoyed meeting your mom and sneaking out back for a smoke with her. Study hard and ace all your exams.

    Joel – I always enjoy being around you, your friends and “extended family”. There is so much laughter, and we all know how healilng laughter can be.

    Your courage and determination are an inspiration to me. You make me feel like I can do a better job of wrestling with my own personal demons.

    Right now I have over 100 aluminum dots taped to my back for my allergy patch test. I ran out of back before they ran out of dots. I already feel like a need a dozen valiums to keep me from ripping them off my back. I’m itching (but can’t scratch) and need to keep them on for another 48 hours. This should be fun.

    Happy Birthday again, Joel. You are a very special person in so many people’s lives. I pretty sure this is NOT where you pictured yourself for your “30th” celebration – but you made the most of it, just as I know you will make the most of every single day in your life.

    Love, Lee

     
  5. NORM BIEHL

    February 6, 2007 at 7:08 am

    ***GOOOOD**MOORNING***MR. JOEL***TUESDAY MORNING AND THE BEAT GOES ON… AS YOU WELL KNOW THE HARD WORK HAS ONLY BEGUN….NO PAIN NO GAIN.. HAY AND DID YOU CATCH OUR ***RED WINGS***LAST NIGHT ON THE TUBE IN CASE YOUR INTERISTED MOST NIGHTS ON CHANEL 73 THEIR IS A HOCKEY GAME GO ! ! WINGS……

     
  6. Clay

    February 6, 2007 at 3:46 pm

    Joel,
    I was in Seattle last week so I did not get to wish you a Happy Birthday! Welcome to the 30’s my friend. It sounds like you had a good time with family and friends. I missed reading your blogs while I was gone, but it gave me something other than work to look forward to when I returned. Have a good week.

    Clay

     
  7. Dyan

    February 7, 2007 at 12:24 pm

    Joel,

    Happy belated birthday!!!!!!! Seems so long ago when I was 30. My 30th birthday was truly memorable (I’ll leave out the details) it is one that I will never forget either. I’m glad to read you had a great birthday party but how could you not with all the great friends and family you have around you. Looks like you have longer hair on your face than you do on your head but it looks good on you. Glad you went to the hockey game but I would be rooting for the Wild of course. I was watching a different hockey game. Kayla has had tournaments 2 weekends in a row, WOW how tiring. Her team came in second in the first tournament. The second tournament we all thought it would be an easy win but it wasn’t. They didn’t play as well as they can like watching strangers on the ice.
    Talk to you soon

     
  8. Janice

    February 7, 2007 at 7:39 pm

    It was great seeing you and meeting the folks at Craig. Everyone I met made me feel welcome, Craig is a very special place.

    It was also great to meet your extended family/friends at your birthday party and to see your family again.

    Thank you everyone who contributed to one of the better birthday parties I have been to in a long time. Oh, and a special thanks to Jess who gave us a ride back to the airport…..hope you figured out how to get back.

    Joel, say Hi to everyone at Craig for me and keep doing what you are doing. You are definitely on the road to independence.

     
  9. Susan MacDonald and Carma Lovely

    February 20, 2007 at 3:27 pm

    Joel,
    We are here in Africa, reading your blog and hearing about your progress. Even though we are half a world away, we have been thinking about you. In the last two days we saw the Newmont Gold Mine, walked in the jungle to the bamboo catherdral, and saw life in a really different culture. We know your travels will take you far and wide in the future.

    Take good care,

    Susan, Sandy, Carma, and Dave

     

Leave a Reply

 
