RSS

Community

03 Feb

Erika’s Mom came for a visit here to Craig for the first time this weekend. The first thing we did was give her the grand tour. As we progressed through the lobby and ran into people we know, we would always stop and visit. Talk about our progress, our hopes and our lives. After the third stop, I began to realize something. I realized that this place has become for me my own little community. A place where everyone here is striving for the same end goal. We all are rooting each other on. We are all sharing the same pain. The bonds created here are deep and meaningful. It is too bad we live in a society where we can’t find the same kind of community with our neighbors. Because in our neighborhoods, we are all striving for very similar goals in our lives. We are striving for a safe place to live, a safe family, a job that fulfills us, to be loved, and somenne to love us back. I hope to have that sense of community in my future.

Janice, Erika’s mom, and I all set off to a movie yesterday. The movie was Blood Diamond. It’s a story of the black and illegal market of diamonds from Africa. It pretty much was a heavy story. I would recommend watching it though.

Tomorrow is the big day. I was having a hard time about turning 30 before this fiasco and I have feeling it still will be difficult. I guess I need to remember all that I do have. Besides I have the Super Bowl to distract me for all the birthday talk.

One last thing before I go. I went and got myself a haircut today. Average Joe came with his clippers in hand this afternoon, however he was limited on his attachments. The only one he had was one longer than my hair today. So, after some discussion we came up with an alternative plan. I am not going to describe it and just let you see it for yourself. I just figured that I am 30, in a hospital and in a chair. I have nothing to lose. I would get used to it though. I am keeping it as long as I am here.

Have a great Sunday and Super Bowl. Go Colts. Once again thanks for all your support.

mowhawk-i.jpg

mowhawk-iii.jpg

mowhawk-ii.jpg

 
7 Comments

Posted by on February 3, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

7 responses to “Community

  1. bryan yates

    February 4, 2007 at 10:34 am

    NICE!!!

     
  2. Debbie Royds

    February 4, 2007 at 12:40 pm

    Hey Joel. Larry & I just wanted to let you know that you have our best wishes and continued prayers today and in the days to come.
    Love the new “do! Very chic and hip!
    Joel, your blog is truly amazing. Thank you for sharing your personal journey and thoughful insights. Your words are a very powerful source of inspiration to us all. Thank you for that gift to all of us.

    God Bless!
    Deb & Larry Royds

     
  3. Eric Hansen

    February 4, 2007 at 12:53 pm

    Wow!!!

     
  4. Janis

    February 4, 2007 at 3:12 pm

    Joel,
    Happy Birthday big guy. Wish I were there to celebrate with everybody. My theory on birthdays is not to celebrate the year but the event and to realize, as I once read in a card, “A birthday is just the first day of another 365-day journey around the sun. Enjoy the trip!” Much love, Janis

     
  5. Beth Hansen

    February 4, 2007 at 5:25 pm

    I love Janis’s quote. Happy birthday dude! 30 is 30 and before you know it you’ll be 31. The weirdest thing for me was passing into another decade.

    Have fun with the SuperBowl. You’ll be surprised to hear that I am not going to watch it.

    Love ya
    Beth

     
  6. Matt Unger

    February 5, 2007 at 5:52 am

    nice haircut. Before long you’ll be at my level with just shaving your head, lol.

    Hope you had a blast watching the super bowl 😀

    commercials weren’t as good as previous years, but there were still some good ones, and talk about a great game. Colts pulled it off, but right from the TD at the opening kickoff it seemed like the bears might have it. Glad to see Peyton finally got his superbowl.

    So did you guys have a SB party? Wife has to go on a diet for her Diabetes and with the pregnancy as well and i’m supporting her and going on it as well. Since i sure could use to lose a few pounds (like 50) lol. So i sure did enjoy the last night of freedom, having 3 beers and 4 slices of pizza, lol.

    Hope you had jsut as much fun.

     
  7. amber

    February 5, 2007 at 2:31 pm

    YEAH!! Very David Beckham of you! HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!
    Havent you heard that 30 is the new 22! At least that is what I am telling myself!
    You look great! Ya old man!
    HAve a fabulous week!!
    Amber

     

Leave a Reply

 
