RSS

Freedom

02 Feb

Last night I went to the Avalanche hockey game. It was the first time I have been out of Craig without a chaperone. Let me tell ya, it felt great. I felt free. I was thinking about the feeling of being free today. I wondered what does it mean to be free. Is it a state of mind? Is it actually require and act? After it being on my mind today, I am at the conclusion that it is a state of mind with a vehicle. You can be free, but unless your mind gets you there, you will never be free. Fortunately for me, I was able to feel free last night — the first time in two months. I guess I was taking for granted my freedom before this mess. This day and age, I guess it is hard to recognize our freedom. I should have looked a little harder.

Erika showed up tonight and I have a smile ear to ear. I absolutely love having her here. She brightens this place like the sun, I am sure I have said it a million times. Seeing her makes me feel free.

Today was a good day. I am trying a new back rest for my chair. It does not have the correct side support I need, so I get the feeling I am floating in my chair. I have to use it for the weekend. Darn it.

This weekend is my birthday and I struggling with it. Before this, I had dreams of skiing in Canada or some other kind of trip. I guess I am going to have to keep dreaming and focus on the future. The “party” this weekend should be nice. I never thought I would have a 30th without beer. I will admit I did have a sip of beer last at the hockey game. For a Coors Light, it tasted pretty damn good.

I am going to end it here. Erika gets all my attention tonight. Thanks for reading. Thanks for the support.

Before I forget: I am picking the Colts for the Superbowl. Erika’s Dad lives in Indiana and I have to be on his good side.

sakic.jpg

sakic-ii.jpg

 
7 Comments

Posted by on February 2, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

7 responses to “Freedom

  1. Robin and Dave ( flight nurses)

    February 3, 2007 at 5:04 am

    Have a Great Birthday Weekend…Keep your strong spirit…
    Glad to hear Erika is there…Cheers!!!

     
  2. Mel Benedict

    February 3, 2007 at 9:09 am

    Happy Birthday!!!!!!!!!!!! don’t worry about the beer thing, I’ll drink a couple extra for you. mel

     
  3. Jason Burch

    February 3, 2007 at 10:40 am

    Joel!

    Happy 30th from Austin Texas!! We will be thinking about you on your special day. I hope you have an exciting, festive weekend with your friends and family there. Looks like your seats at the Avs game were good to say the least.

    Carmen and Jason

     
  4. Will Gilman

    February 3, 2007 at 1:51 pm

    Joel,
    Hard to imagine a Coors Light tasting good…
    We all need to take the time to really appreciate the freedom we have in our lives, but sadly most people take it for granted. With every day, every post, you are inspiring people to look a little harder at their lives and see what freedoms we have been too busy to notice. Although it’s terrible that this inspiration comes from your misfortune, we have all gained much insight from you. I think I’ve said it before, but the true root of this insight comes from the spirit and strength with which you have faced this mess, even on days when you’re not feeling strong. When you get down just remember that we’re all with you. Well, enough prattle. Have a happy birthday old man, I’ll have a beer for you,
    Will

     
  5. Brian Dietzen

    February 3, 2007 at 2:21 pm

    The Colts?? Really?? They always whoop up on us in important games man, you can’t root for them! though I suppose if Erika’s dad’s a fan,……. I guess you don’t have a choice. Have a grat weekend, and an awesome birthday.
    -Brian
    ps. great pics from the Avs game!

     
  6. Maria Hansen

    February 3, 2007 at 4:28 pm

    Looks like the Minnesota Wild was in town. Hope the game was at least a good game. Your blog has given me a lot of perspective in what the life of a patient must be like. Often when I’m getting annoyed with a patient I remember some insight from your blog and I am able to work much better with my patient and patience. You truly have inspired me. Happy Birthday, hope you at least have a good birthday dinner!

     
  7. Dan Zatkovich

    February 3, 2007 at 4:30 pm

    Weren’t you surprised at how much the glass “flexes”? I played a game in high school once at Joe Lewis Arena, where the Red Wings play, and I couldn’t believe how ‘soft’ the glass was. Sorta ruined those big glass checks for me – I know that they’re not really being crunched.

     

Leave a Reply

 
